Incompatibility with ps4?
BETA Testing and Feature Suggestions for the next RouterOS release (ROS v7)

25 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
sirdir
newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:17 pm

Incompatibility with ps4?

by sirdir » Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:51 pm

Hi!

I have a strange problem with my ps4 in relation with the mikrotik router (ros 6.7)
Internetconnection works fine so far (web surfing with the ps 4 etc.) but everything related to PSN breaks on a regular basis. Just can't connect.
When I reboot the mikrotik, it works again for some hours, then the problems start again...
I can only imagine there's some incompatibility on NAT level.. any ideas?

samsung172
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by samsung172 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:57 pm

how about your upnp setting?

User avatar
karina
Member
Member
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:18 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by karina » Sat Dec 28, 2013 12:22 am

Make sure the required ports are forwarded to your console ip address a quick google will list them all

User avatar
c0d3rSh3ll
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: [admin@Chile] >

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by c0d3rSh3ll » Sat Dec 28, 2013 2:56 am

Enable upnp and try.

Send from my mobile phone using Tapatalk.
c0d3rSh3ll @ hotmail.com
Skype: c0d3rSh3ll
3 rb750 ; 1 rb951G-2HnD and 2 rb951-2n for testing lab.
The best way to say thank, is give karma

sirdir
newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:17 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by sirdir » Thu Jan 09, 2014 2:01 pm

Tried upnp, didn't really change anything.

The list of ports to forward I found is rather ridiculous, I'm absolutely not going to forward port 80 to my playstation! nor 443...

uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 2771
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by uldis » Thu Jan 09, 2014 3:03 pm

enable the upnp,debug logging and check if the dynamic port mapping is added or not. When it stops working check if there is some new mapping added or not.

DWJ
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:42 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by DWJ » Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:51 pm

In order for PS3/4 to work correctly you must open the following ports.

This is covered in a lot of posts about the play station and on there website.

If you do not wish to open a port, the the PS will not work.

TCP PORTS: 80; 443; 465; 983; 5223; 10070; 10080
UDP PORTS: 3478; 3479; 3658; 10070

If you also have XBOX, then these ports:

53 UDP and TCP 80 TCP 88 UDP 3074 UDP and TCP

Will
just joined
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 5:56 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by Will » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:09 am

DWJ wrote:In order for PS3/4 to work correctly you must open the following ports.

This is covered in a lot of posts about the play station and on there website.

If you do not wish to open a port, the the PS will not work.

TCP PORTS: 80; 443; 465; 983; 5223; 10070; 10080
UDP PORTS: 3478; 3479; 3658; 10070

If you also have XBOX, then these ports:

53 UDP and TCP 80 TCP 88 UDP 3074 UDP and TCP



can i just open upnp i/o open above ports?

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5906
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by janisk » Mon Jan 13, 2014 2:59 pm

with upnp device will request to open all the ports it requires.

all the dynamic nat rules can be seen via this command:
Code: Select all
/ip firewall nat print dynamic

spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:48 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by spire2z » Sat Jan 18, 2014 3:36 am

I think you may find it's because the ps4 will not work when a DNS proxy is used. If you manually set a real DNS server like 8.8.8.8 then it will work. So go to custom setup. Use DHCP by all means but just set the DNS statically.

sirdir
newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:17 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by sirdir » Sun Jan 19, 2014 9:27 pm

DWJ wrote:In order for PS3/4 to work correctly you must open the following ports.

This is covered in a lot of posts about the play station and on there website.

If you do not wish to open a port, the the PS will not work.

TCP PORTS: 80; 443; 465; 983; 5223; 10070; 10080
UDP PORTS: 3478; 3479; 3658; 10070

If you also have XBOX, then these ports:

53 UDP and TCP 80 TCP 88 UDP 3074 UDP and TCP


I have no problems *opening* a port (inside out) I have a problem FORWARDING port 80 to my PS4. What if I wish to run a webserver?
And, how can I forward Port 80 to the PS4 if I need to forward it to the XBOX as well?

Thanks for spire2z's hint, I'll try that. Actually I even forwarded all the mentioned ports, as my webserver isn't running on port 80 right now but I still find it ridiculous.

Regards
Patrick

ditonet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 12:52 am
Location: Europe/Poland/Konstancin-Jeziorna

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by ditonet » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:44 am

I have a problem FORWARDING port 80 to my PS4. What if I wish to run a webserver?

Check router's 'IP/Services', probably WWW is enabled.
Disable WWW service (Webfig) or change port used by it.

HTH,
Grzegorz | IT Warszawa

sirdir
newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:17 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by sirdir » Mon Jan 20, 2014 3:12 pm

ditonet wrote:
I have a problem FORWARDING port 80 to my PS4. What if I wish to run a webserver?

Check router's 'IP/Services', probably WWW is enabled.
Disable WWW service (Webfig) or change port used by it.

HTH,


Misunderstanding. It's not that I have a problem technically, but I don't WANT to forward port 80 to a game console. It's for my webserver, not a stupid game console.

spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:48 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by spire2z » Tue Jan 21, 2014 2:54 am

sirdir wrote:
DWJ wrote:In order for PS3/4 to work correctly you must open the following ports.

This is covered in a lot of posts about the play station and on there website.

If you do not wish to open a port, the the PS will not work.

TCP PORTS: 80; 443; 465; 983; 5223; 10070; 10080
UDP PORTS: 3478; 3479; 3658; 10070

If you also have XBOX, then these ports:

53 UDP and TCP 80 TCP 88 UDP 3074 UDP and TCP


I have no problems *opening* a port (inside out) I have a problem FORWARDING port 80 to my PS4. What if I wish to run a webserver?
And, how can I forward Port 80 to the PS4 if I need to forward it to the XBOX as well?

Thanks for spire2z's hint, I'll try that. Actually I even forwarded all the mentioned ports, as my webserver isn't running on port 80 right now but I still find it ridiculous.

Regards
Patrick


Ive delt with customers that had this problem and the DNS was the issue. They didn't need any port forwards in order to play games. But I do think UPNP was enabled when I was on support!

Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by Beccara » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:16 am

We've had reports of the same with Ps4 and XboxOne, Changing the dns server on the console to use the BIND Dns server directly rather than the Mikrotik DNS server fixed things for them. We haven't gotten to the bottom of it yet

spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:48 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by spire2z » Tue Jan 21, 2014 4:18 pm

If you think about it it makes sense.

The makers of the consoles are worried about spoofing of their update servers etc to find exploits so have ways to detect proxys.

Any proxy will cause a problem. Its also the same for geographic video services from TV stations that are not allowed to be viewed outside the geographic area.

Dundy
just joined
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:55 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by Dundy » Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:52 pm

Sirdir, have you been able to make this work?

I have the same problem.

How can I give the PS4's IP address "DMZ" status? (RB951G-2HnD)

sirdir
newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 8:17 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by sirdir » Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:34 pm

@spire2z I disagree, doesn't really make sense. It's as easy to spoof with a bind as with a proxy... so there's no security gained.

@dundy: I haven't been using the ps4 much lately. I think it works now, not sure because I changed the dns or because I made those stupid port forward (I sill can't believe one has to forward port 80 to a gameconsole...)

User avatar
koshak83
just joined
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 5:33 pm
Location: Russian Federation, NWFD, Saint-Petersburg City

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by koshak83 » Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:17 pm

sirdir wrote:Hi!

I have a strange problem with my ps4 in relation with the mikrotik router (ros 6.7)
Internetconnection works fine so far (web surfing with the ps 4 etc.) but everything related to PSN breaks on a regular basis. Just can't connect.
When I reboot the mikrotik, it works again for some hours, then the problems start again...
I can only imagine there's some incompatibility on NAT level.. any ideas?


I use RB951G-2HnD + PS3 & PS4- no problem, no disconnects, no lags.
I think disconnects reason is- works on PSN. Its not NAT: i use sometimes PS4 on NAT 1 (real static IP, no router), NAT 2 (real static IP + RB) & NAT 3 (ISP LAN private IP + RB)- works good.
RB951G-2HnD

spire2z
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:48 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by spire2z » Thu Feb 06, 2014 5:42 am

sirdir wrote:@spire2z I disagree, doesn't really make sense. It's as easy to spoof with a bind as with a proxy... so there's no security gained.

@dundy: I haven't been using the ps4 much lately. I think it works now, not sure because I changed the dns or because I made those stupid port forward (I sill can't believe one has to forward port 80 to a gameconsole...)


You may be right. it was just the best theory I had. Not using the DNS proxy deffo solves the ps4 prob though.

I suppose detecting proxys may be done for other reasons too. But probably due to how easy it is to do a DNS entry on a routers dns proxy is the reason. The average kid is not going to setup bind every day but easily has access to dns proxy.

BanjoJay
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:18 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by BanjoJay » Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:21 am

Has anyone gotten this to work. I been trying to connect my XBOX one up and have try UPnP, forwarding ports, and changing DNS. My NAT settings are always strict. My old netgear router had no problem connecting open. Is there anything else left to try?

BanjoJay
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:18 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by BanjoJay » Tue Mar 18, 2014 3:32 am

Has there been any solution for this yet? I have been trying to connect my XBOX one up with no luck. The NAT is always strict no matter what I do. I have try UPnP, forwarding ports, changing DNS, etc and nothing works.

User avatar
Egate
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 10:43 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by Egate » Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:46 pm

Any body solved this? From what i gather this is because of double natting or because a client does not have a public ip. Sure public ip would resolve this, but this means you would have to have few 100 publick ip's.
Happy days. :-)

Zorro
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by Zorro » Wed Apr 16, 2014 11:05 pm

switching to another UPnP implementation at cost of security can solve that problem, but hardly many customers welcome such move, IMO.
as you noticed, its PSN-specific issues, not UPnP itself, related to PSN(not only SOE but Microsoft too, if you interested)lunacy to gain Direct connect to device. so its more make sense to request at PSN resources.

elpamyelhsa
just joined
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2014 6:43 am

Re: Incompatibility with ps4?

by elpamyelhsa » Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:38 pm

I've been trying to figure this problem out for the last week. Funny that switching to OpenDNS server resolves the issues but my external traffic is routed incorrectly because of it.
It looks like the IPv6 package that is causing problems. The PS4 seems to be very active in using IPv6 if supported on RouterOS but my ISP does not support it yet so its causing issues.
If IPv6 is found on the network the PS4 will not map the uPnP ports for IPv4
I've disabled the IPv6 package and its currently working again. Ill update if any further problems.


UPDATE:
Problem has come back, so not IPv6.

Problem has been found to be something to do with DNS-proxy. Changing local DNS of PS4 to point to my ISP DNS Server and not my RouterOS DNS Server solves the issues without having to use OpenDNS servers. Its been working for days now.

25 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 6:41 am