Community discussions

MikroTik App

obiwan
just joined
Topic Author

Remote access to 750gl

Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:56 am

I am new to the 750gl and need to access the router from the web. I have looked around and found a post that suggested
using winbox and load this filter rule.
/ip firewall filter add action=accept chain=input disabled=no dst-port=8291 protocol=tcp place-before=0
I am using Winbox and have tried mypublicIP and mypublicIP:8291.

Any suggestions??

Thanks

p3rad0x
Long time Member
Long time Member

Re: Remote access to 750gl

Mon Feb 06, 2017 11:42 am

Hi, Try and disable all firewall rules.

Then goto ip services and check if winbox access is allowed from 0.0.0.0/0.

Also is the 750 directly connected to the internet with a public ip setup on the interface or is it behind a different router?

obiwan
just joined
Topic Author

Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:03 pm

Thanks for the post!!

Yes, it is hooked directly to a public IP.

Adding " access is allowed from 0.0.0.0/0" to winbox IP services did the trick!!

I have seen multiple posts in different places and this was never mentioned. I did not have to "disable all firewall rules"

k6ccc
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue Feb 07, 2017 6:31 pm

Glad you got it working, but from a security standpoint, that scares me. If you are going to allow all addresses on the internet to access the router, at the very least, change the services port to a non-standard port. WinBox will happily connect to non-standard ports - and ALWAYS use secure mode. A couple more steps would be either a VPN of one sort or another, or port knocking. Add a set of rules to detect and drop port scanners too.