Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450
If you installed RouterOS just now, and don't know where to start - ask here!

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
costasppc
just joined
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:14 pm

Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by costasppc » Wed May 25, 2011 3:14 pm

Hello,

We have a Mikrotik RB450 (no miniPCI). I need to add wireless capability in order to use the hotspot function. I have been told that I can use a regular wireless AP in bridge mode with one of the ethernet ports.

Can someone help me how can I bridge one of the en interfaces with an AP?

Regards
Kostas

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by fewi » Wed May 25, 2011 4:23 pm

If your Hotspot is configured on ether2, and ether3 is available, set the master-port of ether3 to ether2. The two are now bridged via the built in chipset at wire speed. Now plug a LAN port of the AP into ether3, give the AP an IP on the Hotspot network (yuck), and turn off the DHCP server on the AP. That's it.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.

costasppc
just joined
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by costasppc » Wed May 25, 2011 4:50 pm

fewi wrote:If your Hotspot is configured on ether2, and ether3 is available, set the master-port of ether3 to ether2. The two are now bridged via the built in chipset at wire speed. Now plug a LAN port of the AP into ether3, give the AP an IP on the Hotspot network (yuck), and turn off the DHCP server on the AP. That's it.


Thank you. How can i set the master-port?

Kostas

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by fewi » Wed May 25, 2011 4:52 pm

Code: Select all
/interface ethernet { set [find name=ether3] master-port=ether2 };

Or double click it in winbox and set that dropdown.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.

User avatar
laithmikrotik
Member
Member
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by laithmikrotik » Wed May 25, 2011 9:30 pm

nice continuation
I LIKE MIKROTIK

costasppc
just joined
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by costasppc » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:43 pm

Thanks for the answers, it works fine.

How can I set firewall in order to permit access only to common "surfing" ports (like 80, 443, 25, 143 etc).

Regards

Kostas

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by fewi » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:47 pm

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Firewall/Filter

Configure filters in the forward chain that take into account the destination port, protocol, and in-interface.

Code: Select all
/ip firewall filter
add chain=forward connection-state=established action=accept
add chain=forward connection-state=related action=accept
add chain=forward connection-state=invalid action=accept
add chain=forward in-interface=LAN protocol=tcp dst-port=80,443
add chain=forward in-interface=LAN protocol=udp dst-port=53
add chain=forward action=drop


Not to be snippy, but all of these questions are answered in the manual.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.

costasppc
just joined
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by costasppc » Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:12 pm

Thank you!

Yes, they are on the manual....

Can I use Winbox for that?

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by fewi » Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:19 pm

Yes. Just click the "New Terminal" button to get a command line interface.

Or translate it into GUI actions. It translates 1:1:
Code: Select all
/ip firewall filter
add chain=forward connection-state=established action=accept

Click on the IP button, select the Firewall button. Go to the Filter tab. Click + to add a rule. Set the Chain dropdown to 'forward', the Connection State dropdown to 'established', and the Action drop down to 'accept'. Rinse and repeat for the other rules.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.

costasppc
just joined
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: Add wireless to Mikrotik RB450

by costasppc » Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:36 pm

Thank you! I will try it.

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], fire122 and 17 guests

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:57 pm