Borked 450g?
If you installed RouterOS just now, and don't know where to start - ask here!

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
fantasysage
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:39 pm

Borked 450g?

by fantasysage » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:43 pm

I think I messed up my 450g. I have been looking around and cannot find a way to do a factor reset on the config. I was trying to get it to set up on the 10.0.0.0/24 subnet and everything went to hell now I cannot log into the box over the webfig or winbox. It picks it up at reading the default IP of 192.168.88.1 but will not connect. What is really weird is it is giving me a null mac address. I never configured that. The last thing I did before it became unconnectable was to bridge Eth1/2 and set the ports to gigabit (which they are). I am also not in possession of a null modem cable so that limits things.

I knew I Was going over over my head when I got this router but I figured i could learn as I go and make a few mistakes before I got her set up. Guess I was wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.


EDIT: While I am here I might as well describe what I am going for here. My home connection is around 115 down so I wanted a router capable of handling that. I already have a few WAP's so I didn't want one built in. After searching around a few guys recommended Mikrotik. I am a windows sysadmin with a pretty decent grasp of basic networking, no cisco experience but I can configure a medium office. I will be using this as the gateway and DHCP for my house with some port forwarding and QOS enabled. I might configure a VPN or firewall later but that is secondary. I would like to set it up on the 10.0.0.0/24 subnet for laziness more than anything (less typing).

User avatar
leoservices
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:20 am
Location: Belo Horizonte - MG - Brazil

Re: Borked 450g?

by leoservices » Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:47 am

To return to the default settings you can use the reset button. Then will have access Winbox running.
thank you !

Leonardo Vieira de Albuquerque
MTCNA - MTCWE - MTCRE - MTCINE - MTCTCE
http://www.contractti.com.br
add Facebook.com/leonardo.mikrotik

User avatar
cbrown
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1820
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm

Borked 450g?

by cbrown » Mon Mar 19, 2012 4:32 pm

Do you have a serial cable handy to connect to the routerboard?
C.Brown

cbrown[at]mpl.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE

http://training.mpl.com

leonset
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:09 pm

Re: Borked 450g?

by leonset » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:24 am


CLTech
just joined
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:57 am

Re: Borked 450g?

by CLTech » Wed Apr 04, 2012 7:06 am

I had to do this today for the same reason... I couldn't get anything to happen with the reset button, but opening the case and shorting that pad from the link above did the trick for me.

fantasysage
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: Borked 450g?

by fantasysage » Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:14 pm

Same it worked for me. I just needed to find my null modem cable.

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, keema and 19 guests

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:52 pm