Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

OSPF + IBGP

Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:55 pm

Hello!

This is my network topology:
Drawing1.jpg
I have 4 routers and a radius server. On every router we have a PPP server which authenticates customers with radius server and gives them an external IPv4 address from our IP pool. I want to route the external IP addresses with IBGP and internal equipment with OSPF and I have the following questions:

1 - Do I need to add a filter for OSPF to not announce our external IPs so the other routers can get them only from IBGP? Is it the right way?
2 - PPP server gives /32 addresses, is there any way to automatically sumarize them or do I need to create a separate pool for every router? We have about 3.000 customers connected. I think it's will be a problem to keep them all in routers memory as /32 and the network is not growing up proportionally so I have more customers on some routers.

I have never done this before so I feel a little bit confused and I don't know if I'm on the right way.

Regards, Anton.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: OSPF + IBGP

Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:10 pm

You should use OSPF to route your public IPs to the proper PPPoE server as well.
The purpose of iBGP is for multiple border routers to share their information amongst themselves so that your network can come to a consensus on its exterior routing policy.

In OSPF terms, your goal is to configure the PPPoE concentrators as "ASBR" routers - i.e. routers which inject external routes (in your case, the /32 route for a customer with a live IP address) into OSPF. These /32 routes will be distributed throughout your network in OSPF. BGP will only need to signal the existence of your main IP prefixes (/24 or shorter) into the global internet routing table. Once packets reach your border router, they will follow the guidance of OSPF to reach the specific destination within your network.