Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
peterd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:23 pm

how to force mikrotik to route /32

Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:10 am

Hi,

I'm having this issue with a vps provider ..
the way they have their system configured for vps's to use public ip addresses is to route an /32 ip

so lets say we have an 1.1.1.1/32 ip address that needs to be routed through 2.2.2.2 gw

it works on linux via this config:
/etc/network/interfaces
 auto lo eth0
 iface lo inet loopback
 iface eth0 inet static
 address 1.1.1.1
 netmask 255.255.255.255
 broadcast 1.1.1.1
 post-up route add 2.2.2.2 dev eth0
 post-up route add default gw 2.2.2.2
is there a way to force mt to route through that specific gw without adding an address within the gw network ?

Thanks
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 7042
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: how to force mikrotik to route /32

Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:25 am

/ip route add dst-address=1.1.1.1/32 gateway=2.2.2.2
 
User avatar
peterd
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 1:23 pm

Re: how to force mikrotik to route /32

Tue Apr 17, 2012 11:31 am

thanks mrz,

i have found answer in this post, that somehow slipped thorough my last night forum search

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... oute+%2F32

In my case this was the answer ..
for /32 addresses you have to set precisely other end IP address as a network, and subnets in that case does not really matter anymore. here is example:

Router1:
/ip address add address=10.0.0.1/32 network=10.99.88.77 interface=ether1
Rotuer2:
/ip address add address=10.99.88.77/32 network=10.0.0.1 interface=ether1
now, you have p2p addressing, check if other end supprots /32 addressing or else you will have to go with /30 where you waste a lot of addresses (if that is of a concern)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests