Community discussions

MikroTik App

meckanix
just joined
Topic Author

IGMP with PPPoE

Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:14 pm

I've been reading the forums for a while trying to find the answer to the following question, but it appears that no-one I can see is also using PPPoE for their connection back to their ISP. Now I'm no multicast expert, so please bear with me.

So here's my issue. My ISP is now offering IPTV with their package. After speaking with my provider I have found that the multicast traffic is IGMP v3 and it will be delivered over the physical ethernet interface, as well as the PPPoE connection, as the source of the IPTV stream is my local BT MSAN down the street (see the diagram attached). I can see the IPTV channels in my EPG, but when I select the channel, I get no stream :(

Here's my current set up:
Home SetUp.png
Router Version

ros code

version: 6.5
               build-time: Oct/16/2013 15:32:33
              free-memory: 45.1MiB
             total-memory: 64.0MiB
                      cpu: MIPS 24Kc V7.4
                cpu-count: 1
            cpu-frequency: 400MHz
                 cpu-load: 1%
           free-hdd-space: 103.1MiB
          total-hdd-space: 128.0MiB
  write-sect-since-reboot: 200
         write-sect-total: 170989
               bad-blocks: 0%
        architecture-name: mipsbe
               board-name: RB750GL
                 platform: MikroTik

Firewall

ros code

ip firewall filter print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 0   chain=input action=accept protocol=igmp in-interface=all-ppp 

1   chain=input action=accept protocol=igmp in-interface=ether1-gateway 

2   chain=input action=drop protocol=tcp in-interface=ISP src-port=22 

3 X ;;; default configuration
     chain=input action=accept protocol=icmp 

4   ;;; default configuration
     chain=input action=accept connection-state=established 

5   ;;; default configuration
     chain=input action=accept connection-state=related 

6   ;;; default configuration