Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
knura9
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:45 am

RouterOS 4.11 (x86) in Linux KVM exits with errorno=2

Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:05 am

For eval purpose - I have downloaded the v4.11 (x86) and installed the OS as a Linux KVM guest OS.

Host System: openSUSE 11.2 (64 bit), 6GB RAM, network interfaces -- br0 (bridge) bound to eth0 and tap0, br1 bound to tap2

Script ($HOME/KVM/bin/routeros.sh) to start the guest VM

<shell script>

#!/bin/bash
export KVM_DIR=$HOME/KVM

nic0=00:07:43:7a:18:7b
nic1=00:07:43:37:54:42

qemu-kvm \
-daemonize \
-enable-kvm \
-monitor unix:$KVM_DIR/run/routeros.socket,server,nowait \
-vga cirrus \
-m 128 \
-drive file=$KVM_DIR/vdisks/routeros.vdd,index=0,boot=on \
-net nic,model=rtl8139,macaddr=${nic0} \
-net tap,ifname=tap0,script=no,downscript=no \
-net nic,model=e1000,macaddr=${nic1} \
-net tap,ifname=tap2,script=no,downscript=no \

</shell script>

When I run the above script the RouterOS guest VM boots displays error messages (that display on the screen quite fast).

What I have been able to eye ball is:

"Boot from hard disk"
"Loading from initrd"

"Connect failed (errorno=2)

and after the VM is shut down by the OS.

Any idea why RouterOS fails to complete the boot process? Is it because of the network cards being Realtek and Intel?

I have browsed through a couple of postings in this forum. One of response mentioned use "legacy" network card. What is considered as a "legacy" card?

TIA
-- Arun Khan
 
leo101
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:43 pm

Re: RouterOS 4.11 (x86) in Linux KVM exits with errorno=2

Fri Jul 30, 2010 8:36 pm

See http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=43121
use "-cpu qemu32"... ;)
RouterOS don't run with 64bit-cpu :(

L.
 
knura9
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:45 am

Re: RouterOS 4.11 (x86) in Linux KVM exits with errorno=2

Fri Jul 30, 2010 10:10 pm

See http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=43121
use "-cpu qemu32"... ;)
RouterOS don't run with 64bit-cpu :(
Interesting - 32bit versions of the main stream Linux distros run just fine on the same hardware.

Thanks much for the "-cpu qemu32" hint. It did solve my boot problem

-- Arun
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6263
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterOS 4.11 (x86) in Linux KVM exits with errorno=2

Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:06 pm

you can use other -cpu options, it just does not work with default -cpu setting. And it has nothing to do with other settings.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests