Community discussions

MikroTik App

on4aa
just joined
Topic Author

How to configure a MikroTik hAP ac lite as a Layer 2 switch?

Thu Jan 26, 2017 9:30 pm

Here is an overview of the network topology:

Both the Fritz!Box 7340 and MikroTik hAP ac lite router currently act as DHCP servers, effectively splitting the network in two LANs. The MikroTik router was also configured as a bridge for the
192.168.88.xxx
LAN.

In order to avoid the trouble of double NAT, I would like to reconfigure the MikroTik hAP ac lite as a Layer 2 switch. There are advantages of doing so over double NATing.

All DHCP and NAT should be handled exclusively by the Fritz!Box. Furthermore, the MikroTik hAP ac lite should have a static IP address in the same local IP address range so it can still be managed over its web interface.

The Fritz!Box configuration is not an issue. However, I am an utter newbie managing MikroTik's RouterOS and I found no instructions on the web concerning this specific problem. Hence, my question:

What are the (detailed) steps to configure a MikroTik hAP ac lite as a Layer 2 switch, removing its DHCP server whilst keeping a static IP address for management?

By the way, I am on GNU/Linux, so using Winbox is not an option for me.
Last edited by on4aa on Fri Jan 27, 2017 10:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

on4aa
just joined
Topic Author

Re: How to configure a MikroTik hAP ac lite as a Layer 2 switch?

Fri Jan 27, 2017 1:44 am

For those interested in gaining some reputation points, I also posted this very same question over at SuperUser SE.

Van9018
Long time Member
Long time Member

Fri Jan 27, 2017 2:57 am

IP > DHCP Server, delete the dhcp server for bridge-local
IP > Addresses, replace IP address for bridge-local to your desired IP (192.168.178.x/24)

At this point, Ports 2-5 and wifi are considered a switch. ether1 remains the gateway. If you want to use ether1 as another port in the switch...

IP > DHCP Client, delete DHCP Client for ether1