Port Mirroring
RouterOS general discussion

27 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:30 am

Is it possible to do port mirroring on a Mikrotik for monitoring purposes? I see there's a interface ethernet mirror command but I can't figure out how to use it.

Keefe

User avatar
andrewluck
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:05 pm
Location: Norfolk, UK

Re: Port Mirroring

by andrewluck » Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:04 am

Documentation is a little thin on this subject. I found this is a config file:

Code: Select all
/interface ethernet mirror
set mirror-port=none source-port=none


Hope this offers some clues.

Kind regards

Andrew

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:20 am

That doesn't seem to work:

/interface ethernet mirror> set mirror-port=ether5 source-port=LAN
bad argument name mirror-port (line 1 column 5)

changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 3730
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by changeip » Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:48 am

does it have to be a port thats in a switch config ?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: Port Mirroring

by roc-noc.com » Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:55 am

This is the command syntax. I tried it on an RB493AH with ROS 3.27 but it doesn't appear to be working yet. I tried bridging the ports, slaving the ports, leaving them not bridged and not slaved.

"interface ethernet mirror set source-port=ether8 mirror-port=ether9"

source-port does not support being mirrored

It looks like a future command and one I look forward to.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

maco
newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by maco » Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:44 am

Im looking for the same functionality. Can you please update us on the topic in case you have any new information?! Thank you.

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Port Mirroring

by normis » Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:20 am

This is supported on some RouterBOARDs that have appropriate switch chips that support port mirroring. For example RB450G and RB750
No answer to your question? How to write posts

maco
newbie
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by maco » Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:42 pm

Very helpful! Cheers!

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 11:56 pm

This is supported on some RouterBOARDs that have appropriate switch chips that support port mirroring. For example RB450G and RB750


Would it be possible for you to extend this feature to any kind of network interfaces using software instead of the hardware chips?


Keefe

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Port Mirroring

by normis » Tue Jul 28, 2009 8:52 am

that would take too much resources! imagine what this does - it mirrors all traffic!
No answer to your question? How to write posts

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:12 pm

You don't think a dual/quad core x86 box or a dual processor multi-core x86 box wouldn't be able to handle that? I have low end 8 port HP managed switches that can do port mirroring.

Keefe

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Port Mirroring

by normis » Wed Jul 29, 2009 8:54 am

those switches have switch chips, they don't have operating systems doing this in software!
No answer to your question? How to write posts

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:27 am

What specific chipset is required to make this happen? Are there and pci cards available with this chipset?

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Port Mirroring

by normis » Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:28 am

RouterBOARD 750 and 450 have this switch chip.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by keefe007 » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:24 am

What is the exact name of the chipset/chip needed? Or, what is the exact technology these chips must have to support this?

I would like to find out if there are and pci or pcie based network cards that have this chipset or support this echnology.

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19288
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Port Mirroring

by normis » Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:29 am

RouterOS doesn't support any other chips
No answer to your question? How to write posts

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Port Mirroring

by csickles » Tue Sep 08, 2009 8:27 am

Just because I havent had time to try it..

Is it both ingress and egress ??
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Port Mirroring

by csickles » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:01 am

FYI...

Both Ingress and Egress as well as injection ARE supported !!! Yahoo !!!

I am uning the 450G as a net tap for a FaceTime box..

WORKS GREAT !!!!

Setup was about 15 Min !!
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

brianlj
just joined
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:07 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by brianlj » Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:46 pm

I am using an RB450 and the mirror command does not seem to be available under the ethernet menu?
Am I missing a required package?
Software version is 4.11.

kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:55 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by kirshteins » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:36 am

Check under "/interface ethernet switch print". If the type is "ICPlus175C", then mirroring is not supported.

brianlj
just joined
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:07 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by brianlj » Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:29 pm

It is type IC-Plus-175D.

I was able to use command:
/interface ethernet switch set numbers=0 mirror-source=ether2 mirror-target=ether5

Does this accomplish the port mirroring? I was not able to find any documentation anywhere.

kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:55 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by kirshteins » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:42 am

Yes, port mirroring is supported on this chip. More information: http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Switch_Chip_Features

brianlj
just joined
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:07 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by brianlj » Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:02 pm

I still didn't find a mirror command under the ethernet menu (as shown in above posts)?
Is there any good documentation out there for supported commands?
Did my sample command look correct?
Thanks!

kirshteins
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 592
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:55 am

Re: Port Mirroring

by kirshteins » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:55 am

Yes,
Code: Select all
/interface ethernet switch set numbers=0 mirror-source=ether2 mirror-target=ether5
is correct. Please describe the problem you are experiencing.

brianlj
just joined
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:07 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by brianlj » Mon Aug 01, 2011 4:51 pm

Thank you.
I was just trying to confirm command syntax since I could not find reference and this topic thread indicated the command was "interface ethernet mirror set source-port=ether8 mirror-port=ether9".

I believe all is working OK. Is there a way to confirm the mirroring activity?

kirangaj
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by kirangaj » Thu Oct 03, 2013 6:06 pm

Hi All,

I was able to set one of the ports as mirror ports, I am trying to set other two ports too as mirror ports for the same source port, Is that possible?

Could someone help me with this?

Regards,
Kiran G

kirangaj
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:52 pm

Re: Port Mirroring

by kirangaj » Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:40 am

Could some one help me with configuring the mirror ports? I want to have three destination ports for the same source port? Is that possible?

27 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], folkert, Google [Bot], ibm, lambert and 35 guests

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:26 pm