HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT
RouterOS general discussion

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Nigeria

HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by dunga » Wed Oct 21, 2009 10:22 pm

Hello,
I am having some problems with my hotspot clients.

They were all connecting and working but within 2 -3mins, their connection will log them out and display the login page again. This situation has been distrubing as they cant do anything thru the hotspot.

Here is my hospot details
/ip hotspot profile
set default dns-name="" hotspot-address=0.0.0.0 html-directory=hotspot \
http-cookie-lifetime=3d http-proxy=0.0.0.0:0 login-by=cookie,http-chap \
name=default rate-limit="" smtp-server=0.0.0.0 split-user-domain=no \
use-radius=no
add dns-name=hotspot.timasybankrd.net hotspot-address=172.16.0.1 \
html-directory=hotspot http-proxy=0.0.0.0:0 login-by=http-chap name=\
hsprof1 nas-port-type=wireless-802.11 radius-accounting=yes \
radius-default-domain="" radius-interim-update=received \
radius-location-id="" radius-location-name="" radius-mac-format=\
XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX rate-limit="" smtp-server=0.0.0.0 split-user-domain=no \
use-radius=yes
/ip hotspot
add address-pool=dhcp_pool1 addresses-per-mac=1 disabled=no idle-timeout=50m \
interface=ether1 keepalive-timeout=none name=hotspot1 profile=hsprof1
/ip hotspot user profile
set default idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m name=default shared-users=\
1 status-autorefresh=1m transparent-proxy=no
/ip hotspot ip-binding
add address=192.168.10.230 comment="" disabled=no type=bypassed
add address=172.16.0.230 comment="" disabled=no server=hotspot1 type=bypassed
add address=172.16.0.5 comment="" disabled=no server=hotspot1 type=bypassed
add address=172.16.0.6 comment="" disabled=no server=hotspot1 type=bypassed
add address=172.16.0.7 comment="" disabled=no server=hotspot1 type=bypassed
/ip hotspot service-port
set ftp disabled=no ports=21
/ip hotspot user
add comment="" disabled=no name=dede password=dd profile=default \
server=hotspot1
add comment="" disabled=no name=panda password=divine profile=default

plz your help will be appreciated. I am running RouterOS 3.22

User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7229
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Home Network Ltd., Minsk, Belarus

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by Chupaka » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:18 am

what's in Log?

have you checked 3.30/4.1 versions?
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

¡ɹǝ|SOɹǝʇnoɹ ʞıʇoɹʞıW ɯ‚|

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

skype: pavel.skuratovich

User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by dunga » Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:03 pm

here is my log
[admin@Installer] /log> pr
06:57:57 system,error,critical router was rebooted without proper shutdown
06:58:02 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.0.12 to 00:23:8B:81:3D:58
06:59:07 hotspot,info,debug naphtali (172.16.0.11): trying to log in by http-chap
06:59:07 hotspot,account,info,debug naphtali (172.16.0.11): logged in
07:57:34 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.0.14 to 00:1D:D9:29:0E:54
08:53:02 hotspot,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): trying to log in by http-chap
08:53:02 hotspot,account,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): logged in
09:00:03 dhcp,info dhcp1 deassigned 172.16.0.19 from 00:21:29:81:7D:33
09:00:03 dhcp,info dhcp1 assigned 172.16.0.19 to 00:21:29:81:7D:33
09:04:31 hotspot,info,debug chazz (172.16.0.24): trying to log in by http-chap
09:04:31 hotspot,account,info,debug chazz (172.16.0.24): logged in
09:18:59 hotspot,info,debug naphtali (172.16.0.11): logged out: keepalive timeout
09:21:22 hotspot,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): logged out: keepalive timeout
09:30:33 hotspot,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): trying to log in by http-chap
09:30:33 hotspot,account,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): logged in
09:32:44 hotspot,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): logged out: keepalive timeout
09:35:28 hotspot,info,debug naphtali (172.16.0.11): trying to log in by http-chap
09:35:28 hotspot,account,info,debug naphtali (172.16.0.11): logged in
09:38:20 hotspot,info,debug universal (172.16.0.30): trying to log in by http-chap

User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7229
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Home Network Ltd., Minsk, Belarus

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by Chupaka » Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:38 pm

you may try to increase keepalive-timeout value - it's defaut value is exactly 2m, afair
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

¡ɹǝ|SOɹǝʇnoɹ ʞıʇoɹʞıW ɯ‚|

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

skype: pavel.skuratovich

User avatar
dunga
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 10:51 am
Location: Nigeria

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by dunga » Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:39 pm

thanks,
But I am not using the default, unless if someone did not specify the keep alive timeout value, it takes the default value. I have tried doing that but wil monitor it and give you feedback.

Thanks

mcluver
just joined
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 9:42 pm

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by mcluver » Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:18 am

I believe you need to take a look at the User Profiles, if you are just using the default profile the Keepalive Timeout is also set in there as well.

ignaciobugueno
just joined
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 8:49 pm

Re: HELP WITH IDLE TIMEOUT IN HOTSPOT

by ignaciobugueno » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:02 pm

Cookies!...

Activate cokies "login by" in the Server profiles section, the keepalive and idle is better in 0.

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], dimaf, Google [Bot], gotsprings, kivimart and 51 guests

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 1:55 pm