Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Ethernet port priority queue

Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:34 pm

OMG...

I have spent hours today trying to figure out queues..

I have played around alot, read a lot...

But I just cant seem to do what i want.

I want to assign priorities to all data based on ethernet port. Ive got 4 ports bridged and I want to give different priorities to each port.

What is the best way to do this ?
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 12:37 am

So... Um.... Like this ?
add burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s comment=\
    "Main Computer" direction=both disabled=no dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=\
    all limit-at=0/0 max-limit=0/0 name="Ether 2" parent=none priority=3 queue=\
    ethernet-default/ethernet-default total-queue=ethernet-default
add burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s comment="Computer 2" \
    direction=both disabled=no dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=ether3 limit-at=\
    0/0 max-limit=0/0 name="Ether 3" parent="Ether 2" priority=6 queue=\
    ethernet-default/ethernet-default total-queue=ethernet-default
add burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s comment=Wireless \
    direction=both disabled=no dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=ether4 limit-at=\
    0/0 max-limit=0/0 name="Ether 4" parent="Ether 2" priority=6 queue=\
    ethernet-default/ethernet-default total-queue=ethernet-default
add burst-limit=0/0 burst-threshold=0/0 burst-time=0s/0s comment=Misc \
    direction=both disabled=no dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=ether5 limit-at=\
    0/0 max-limit=0/0 name="Ether 5" parent="Ether 2" priority=8 queue=\
    ethernet-default/ethernet-default total-queue=default-small
Will that do what I want ?

Hmmm I dont think so..

To clarify what I want to do...

If a high priority packet comes along other packets will be delayed until after the priority packet is delivered.

I dont care about bandwidth limiting. I want a higher priority ethernet port ( or IP ) to have full use of the connection and all the bandwidth if needed. I want to be able to assign different levels of this priority. BUT I want the higher priority even if none of the ports are in heavy use. My focus is more on latency then bandwidth.
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7717
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:20 am

There are no strict priority queues in RouterOS. It is impossible to say "transmit these packets first". Priority in queues simply means "first give everything the limit-at CIR, when that has been satisfied, give those with a higher priority the bandwidth between limit-at and max-limit first and drop lower priorities to make that happen".

Sightly paraphrased, a high priority does not mean "transmit first", it means "drop last when giving more than the CIR".
 
MRMISSY
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:33 am

try this example
I put ether2 in higher priority
/interface bridge filter
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether2 new-priority=1 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=1 out-interface=ether2 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether3 new-priority=8 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=8 out-interface=ether3 passthrough=no
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:37 am

MRMISSY, Hmmm.... Thats a different way to go at it. I gotta think about that for a minute..

Fewi,

Booooo......

A whole day wasted....

Well no wonder I couldn't do it... So you can just allocate bandwidth. That I figured out pretty quickly. Well maybe I will at least do that...

At least it was educational.
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 1:48 am

Ok I am obviously a noob on this one... MRMISSY what exactly does that rule set do ?

What I did was this.
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether2 new-priority=1 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=1 out-interface=ether2 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether3 new-priority=3 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=3 out-interface=ether3 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether4 new-priority=3 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=3 out-interface=ether4 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no in-interface=ether5 new-priority=7 passthrough=no
add action=set-priority chain=forward comment="" disabled=no new-priority=7 out-interface=ether5 passthrough=no
 
User avatar
Xymox
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 416
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Phoenix, Arizona US
Contact:

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:14 am

As far as I can tell those rules dont seem to do anything...

Clearly my testing showed that between 2 computers both had the same priority...

The Queue rules however were useful and had a beneficial effect. The primary computer's latency was almost completely unaffected when I saturated the link with the secondary connection. The secondary computer's latency was effected drastically however when i saturated the link with the primary computer. So priorities do work nicely in simple queues in 5rc11..

Maybe I need to do something else with that set of Bridge Filter rules. I dont understand what they are just exactly. They look like firewall rules. But they are under the Bridge category. I dont understand at all what the Set-Priority does.
 
MRMISSY
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 3:26 pm

Re: Ethernet port priority queue

Sun Mar 20, 2011 4:28 pm

HI
these rules give different priority for each port alone when they bridged together
during the communication with server
or as far as I understood

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 150 guests