Community discussions

MikroTik App

mr21
just joined
Topic Author

Multi Wan and BW control Switch?

Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:07 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm new to mikrotik and I would really like to use it's hardware and software for a project that I'm working on. I need a managed switch that has two wan ports with load balancing abilities and a few (up to four) ethernet ports whose bandwidth I will be able to set manually. Another welcome feature would be application control and blocking. Can you please tell me what the most cost effective solution would be and I mean which hardware device and what level of a licence would I need to get the most of it?

THank you in advance.

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Multi Wan and BW control Switch?

Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:06 pm

Do you mean a router or a switch? I'm assuming router.

It's hard to give you any device recommendation with as little information as you posted. The license level is determined by the features you need. If all you need is static routing across 1-4 WAN circuits, some basic QoS, and a basic firewall, a level 4 license will suffice. The device type itself is determined by how many packets per second you'd like to pass, and what kind of media option you'd like. Are you looking for wireless? Gigabit Ethernet?

Go to routerboard.com and pick hardware that matches your media requirements and expected throughput, and comes with a level 4 license.

mr21
just joined
Topic Author

Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:58 pm