Export compact (new in v5.12)
RouterOS general discussion

77 posts   •   Page 2 of 2   •   1, 2
engineertote
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by engineertote » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:51 pm

i saw in the web site that 5.12 been removed this mornning and back again just now ,, is there any modifications on the new package ??

with thanks
Ahmed
MTCNA , MTCTCE , MTCRE , MTCINE

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19335
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by normis » Tue Feb 14, 2012 3:52 pm

no, just site maintenance
No answer to your question? How to write posts

troy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:47 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by troy » Tue Feb 14, 2012 5:03 pm

janisk wrote:2) why the current default of unicast is not good enough, also, NTP server on the RouterOS defaults to unicast mode and additional modes (broadcast, multicast and manycast) can be enabled in addition to unicast. So now the only thing that you have to do is to set up ntp-client to get the time, enable ntp-server and point other ntp clients to your RouterOS router.


I got that backwards... it's set to broadcast and not enabled. Here's the NTP config as set from DHCP:
Code: Select all
/system ntp client
set enabled=no mode=broadcast primary-ntp=172.17.2.4 secondary-ntp=0.0.0.0


it needs to be set to unicast and enabled when configured via DHCP.

jt2048
newbie
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:53 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by jt2048 » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:06 am

Ok, what's with the version numbers? My system reports 5.4 yet I don't have a compact argument to export. Is the a doc somewhere that talks to version trees and the like?

JT

User avatar
boen_robot
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1318
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 4:43 pm
Location: europe://Bulgaria/Plovdiv

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by boen_robot » Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:22 am

jt2048 wrote:Ok, what's with the version numbers? My system reports 5.4 yet I don't have a compact argument to export. Is the a doc somewhere that talks to version trees and the like?

JT

5.4 < 5.12

5.4 is not a short way to write 5.40 (a version that doesn't yet exist). It is instead what came before 5.5, 5.6...., 5.9, 5.10, 5.11, and 5.12. The compact argument was only introduced in 5.12.
PEAR2_Net_RouterOS(1.0.0b5) - My API client in PHP
(Karma? If you want... no pressure...)

User avatar
otgooneo
Member
Member
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Mongolia

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by otgooneo » Fri Mar 09, 2012 2:13 pm

Please please please add feature, that can be export only special user defined configurations.
Code: Select all
[admin@mikrotik] > export [find where comment!="MyDefault"]


Pls pls pls :-)
----------------------------
Want to learn more and more...

falz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by falz » Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:08 pm

Great addition, I've been hoping this would be added since I've started using Mikrotik devices. Thanks for listening to customer requests.

shinn
just joined
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 6:43 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by shinn » Tue Mar 27, 2012 4:28 pm

please export config with fixed order that i can compare with tools like WinMerge.

miro10hr
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:03 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by miro10hr » Tue May 08, 2012 12:33 pm

I was testing this function and found some errors. Maybe it would help to improve it (or maybe I am the problem :-) )

I used RB450 and RB750GL, software v5.14.

I did just basic configuration of RB450 - added two IP addresses, did export compact and tried to import configuration to RB750GL.

First error is this one:
Code: Select all
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] group-ciphers="" unicast-ciphers=""

For some reason RB450 compact export adds the line interface wireless (although it does not have wireless interfaces), which does not exists in RB750GL.

Second "error" is this one:
Code: Select all
/tool mac-server
add disabled=no

After this import stops and asks for interface
Code: Select all
interface:

This line in full exports looks like this:
Code: Select all
/tool mac-server
add disabled=no interface=all


So if I write "all" after it stops, it continues, but maybe it would be better that import is done without stopping.

Hope this helps a little.

User avatar
skot
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 547
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:05 am

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by skot » Thu May 17, 2012 12:46 am

Is there a status report on the bugs people have found? Changelog doesn't say anything about export compact since it was introduced in 5.12
I don't need any karma... I have Ιησους Χριστος!

tjc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:08 am

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by tjc » Thu May 17, 2012 2:54 am

There have definitely been fixes in this area since 5.12. Based on comparing compact exports from 5.12 and 5.16 they seem to have fixed the problems with 0.0.0.0, script policies, logging, nieghbor discovery, ... So far 5.16 is looking like a very solid release.

maxstel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by maxstel » Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:15 pm

My experience using export compact.
Two RB 711.
RouterOS 5.16 on both board.
Basic configuration applied on the first (ip on interfaces, wireless link configuration, dhcp client, OSPF).
Import on the second RB (after /system routerboard reset-configuration no-default=yes) and I got this error:
[line 38]/snmp community
[line 39]set [ find default=yes ] addresses=0.0.0.0/0

[line 73]set starttls=no
[line 74] (the last line was empty)

I removed this 4 lines and the script has been imported without errors.

Any suggestion?

Thanks!
Massimo Passerini
STEL S.r.l.
Ferrara - Italy
MikroTik Certified Trainer

User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 6262
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by sergejs » Wed Jun 06, 2012 2:22 pm

maxstel, perhaps one of the pre-release 5.16 version was installed on your router.
Install MikroTik RouterOS 5.17 on both routers and address=0.0.0.0/0 and tls options are available there.

maxstel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by maxstel » Wed Jun 06, 2012 3:56 pm

sergejs wrote:maxstel, perhaps one of the pre-release 5.16 version was installed on your router.
Install MikroTik RouterOS 5.17 on both routers and address=0.0.0.0/0 and tls options are available there.


Thank you Sergejs... I will try asap... ;)
Massimo Passerini
STEL S.r.l.
Ferrara - Italy
MikroTik Certified Trainer

maxstel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by maxstel » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:52 am

Another problem with export compact.
Two routers. Both RB433 with 2 wlan and ROS 5.15.
Import stops at this section:
/ip neighbor discovery
at this line
set 012-eoip-tunnel disabled=yes

Without this line, everything works fine...
Of course discovery on some interfaces is disabled by default, so in this case it's not a problem, but every time I import a "compact" I have to cross my fingers... ;)
Massimo Passerini
STEL S.r.l.
Ferrara - Italy
MikroTik Certified Trainer

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by janisk » Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:32 am

no interface named 012-eoip-tunne exist when neighbour discovery entries are executed?

maxstel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by maxstel » Fri Jun 22, 2012 12:29 pm

janisk wrote:no interface named 012-eoip-tunne exist when neighbour discovery entries are executed?


Nop...
The interface are created on lines 11, 12 and 13:

/interface eoip
add mac-address=02:29:0E:84:41:8D name=012-eoip-tunnel remote-address=\
172.32.10.254 tunnel-id=12
Massimo Passerini
STEL S.r.l.
Ferrara - Italy
MikroTik Certified Trainer

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by janisk » Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:40 pm

update to latest RouterOS i did export compact on 5.18 and there interface creation is before ip settings.

maxstel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by maxstel » Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:32 pm

janisk wrote:update to latest RouterOS i did export compact on 5.18 and there interface creation is before ip settings.


In my "export compact" rsc file (ROS 5.15), the eoip tunnel is set on lines 11, 12, 13.
..................................................................................
# jan/02/1970 00:01:11 by RouterOS 5.15
# software id = QJAC-J6BC
#
/interface ethernet
set 0 name=ether1
set 1 name=ether2
set 2 name=ether3
/interface bridge
add name=bridge1
add l2mtu=1526 name=bridge_pp
/interface eoip
add mac-address=02:29:0E:84:41:8D name=012-eoip-tunnel remote-address=\
172.32.10.254 tunnel-id=12
....................................................................................
The discovery is set on lines 83, 84, 85, 86
................................................
/ip neighbor discovery
set wlan1 disabled=yes
set wlan2 disabled=yes
set 012-eoip-tunnel disabled=yes
................................................
Is it correct? In this case, the script should be ok or not? In my case, the script stops with an error at line 86...
I don't understand why it stop with error, but when I remove the line "set 012-eoip-tunnel disabled=yes" the script doesn't stop...

Thats all...

Thanks Janis
Massimo Passerini
STEL S.r.l.
Ferrara - Italy
MikroTik Certified Trainer

User avatar
hassibi
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 5:58 am
Location: Iran,Kerman

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by hassibi » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:21 am

Thanks Mikrotik.its useful feature.

hfarnoudi
just joined
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 11:04 pm

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by hfarnoudi » Fri Aug 10, 2012 1:27 am

i think it is very useful but i must be test 8)

nosovk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by nosovk » Sat Jun 29, 2013 9:22 am

We are using SVN to monitor configuration changes, but first line of export compact is
# jan/12/1970 14:40:51 by RouterOS 6.1
can you add some flag to turn off timestamp in it, becouse now each export looks like new commit in svn, even if there nothing changed in it cause of timestamp...

(and really say - there is the same prblem with binarry backup... Or there is more than just config in it?)
Аренда Програмного обеспечения
https://www.CloudZZ.com
Микротики на Украине оптом
mikrotik.kharkov.ua

User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7236
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Home Network Ltd., Minsk, Belarus

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by Chupaka » Mon Jul 22, 2013 5:43 pm

nosovk wrote:first line of export compact is
# jan/12/1970 14:40:51 by RouterOS 6.1
can you add some flag to turn off timestamp in it

use "tail -n +2" :)

nosovk wrote:(and really say - there is the same prblem with binarry backup... Or there is more than just config in it?)

AFAIR, there's also Graphing, etc.
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

¡ɹǝ|SOɹǝʇnoɹ ʞıʇoɹʞıW ɯ‚|

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

skype: pavel.skuratovich

nosovk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by nosovk » Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:29 am

unfortunatly I dont know how to integrate
tail -n +2 into svn.
But it's good idea :)

this example even settled in wikipedia
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tail_(Unix)
This example shows all lines of report from the second line onwards:
tail -n +2 report
Аренда Програмного обеспечения
https://www.CloudZZ.com
Микротики на Украине оптом
mikrotik.kharkov.ua

solelunauno
newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Roseto Capo Spulico CS Italy

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by solelunauno » Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:27 pm

I'm making an automated fetch script with the "export compact" function. I noticed that if you use: export compact file=file , all things goes well; instead, if you use: /tool export compact file=file you have a file "file.rsc" with only 2-3 lines in it, and not all the configuration. Why?
I use RouterOS 6.1 on mipsbe .
SL1 Systems srl MTCNA MTCRE

User avatar
Chupaka
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7236
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:15 pm
Location: Home Network Ltd., Minsk, Belarus

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by Chupaka » Wed Aug 21, 2013 12:06 am

it's because "/tool export" exports settings from /tool menu. you can use 'export' everywhere, for example "/ip firewall export" to export only firewall settings. use "/export" on any submenu to export full config
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple, neat, and wrong.

¡ɹǝ|SOɹǝʇnoɹ ʞıʇoɹʞıW ɯ‚|

MikroTik. Your life. Your routing.

skype: pavel.skuratovich

solelunauno
newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Roseto Capo Spulico CS Italy

Re: Export compact (new in v5.12)

by solelunauno » Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:20 pm

Thank you Chupaka. It's a very good point.
SL1 Systems srl MTCNA MTCRE

  Previous
77 posts   •   Page 2 of 2   •   1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:15 pm