Community discussions

MikroTik App

niksus
just joined
Topic Author

Creating VPN tunnel chain

Fri Feb 03, 2012 12:44 pm

Hello

I'm fairly new with Mikrotik Routerboards. And the first problem I'm having is frustrating me even further.
The guy that made the initial setup is currently unavailable, and of course this matter is extremely urgent now :)

We have a RB751U-2HnD.
A VPN IPSec tunnel (lan-to-lan) is already created to a partner. Our partner is having another VPN tunnel (same kind) to a third company.
They are now requiring to chain the VPN's, so we can access the third company network too.
I'm provided only with the public IP of the third company network. And I don't know where to put it.

Already checked what we have in IP -> IPSec -> Polices/Peers/...
The current settings are there, but can't figure by my own, where the new ones should be added.
I have some network knowledge, but not that much :)

It would be great, if someone could help me.

niksus
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Creating VPN tunnel chain

Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:09 pm

So it seems the provided additional info, was not really useful for us.
I'm not sure if this is the proper way to do such chain, but I'm adding a static route from local network to the gateway in remote network that is starting the second VPN.

glucz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:40 pm

The static route might be a valid way to do this, but it is not the most resource efficient especially if your partner is on a slow Internet line. All traffic between you and the third company goes into their network and comes out causing a double traffic load.

If this is just going to be 3 nodes, you can set up a VPN to the third company directly and set up the proper routing. If you want a truly extensible topology, you could rent a VPS at a local datacenter and set up RouterOS on that. Everyone then can connect to the central node only.

GL

niksus
just joined
Topic Author

Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:55 pm