MikroTik App

maxcuban
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Going through hell with RouterOs setup. pls help

Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:10 am

Hi everyone,

this is my first time trying to use Mikrotik Routeros and setting it up is taking me through hell.!!!
I've intalled routeros on a pc and want to use it as a router for just hotspot billing and authentication.

I have already installed it and have to connect remotely via winbox.
Once winbox starts downloading it goes for about a few seconds and i get the following feedback:

when connecting via i.p:
could not fetch index from 192.168.0.1:80: not found.

when connecting via MAC address setup:
could not get roteros.dll: no inital reply.

I've gone through the forum and tried the following options but none seems to work:
Randy601,

You are going to want to delete the following folder: "%appdata%\mikrotik". Then re-run the executable and you should be fine.

Matt
but nothing changed

Delete everything in the following folder. %userprofile%\Application Data\Mikrotik and also delete any winbox.exe you may have.

Then once you do that, download http://www.mikrotik.com/download/winbox.exe

Try that and see what happens.

Matt
still nothing
FYI, ThreatFire is one such 'antivirus' that can cause this and missing menu items to occur.
in fact, i disabled both my firewall and antivirus (microsoft security essentials) but i got no results

I have RouterOs v. 5.19 and winbox v2.2.18

i have also tried the same thing from another computer and have made no progress.

Please help

samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Going through hell with RouterOs setup. pls help

Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:43 am

Do you connect directly with stright cable? i have seen this issue if going trough some switches etc.
Also some nic chipset give this error more than other. Are u sure its correct ip? what if you try to connect to the ip using web browser? possible to ping?

cbrown
Trainer
Trainer

Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:49 am