Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
hovrashko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:13 am

Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard 750)

Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:36 am

I have a 2 DSL modems that I need to bond as a single connection without using Double NAT. Those who dealt with VoIP know what is double NET problem for SIP traffic.

What i have so far:
RouterBoard 750 (6.4)
2 DSL modems set to bridge mode, connected to port 3 (WAN1) and 4 (WAN2). Port 5 is Local port connected to the rest of the network and IP phones. Port 5 is a DHCP for 192.168.0.0/24 network. I have manged to PPPoE both of them and then bond them. Cant get them routed and translated correctly to 192.168.0.1.
Here is my config (What i've configured):

DSL (Local, WAN1, WAN2)

/interface enable Local,WAN1,WAN2

/ip dhcp-client add interface=WAN1 disabled=no
/ip dhcp-client add interface=WAN2 disabled=no

/ interface pppoe-client
add interface=WAN1 user="User3" password="Password" \
add-default-route=yes use-peer-dns=yes disabled=no

add interface=WAN2 user="User4" password="Password" \
add-default-route=yes use-peer-dns=yes disabled=no

/ip address add address=192.168.0.1/24 interface=Local

/ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat src-address=192.168.0.0/24 action=masquerade

-------------------------------------------------------

/ip dhcp-server setup

/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes

----------------------------------------------------------

/interface bonding
add slaves=WAN1,WAN2

add address=192.168.0.1/24 interface=bond1

/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.0.1 distance=2 check-gateway=ping
I get 2 public addressees which needed to be translated (NATed) to Local interface 192.168.0.0/24 network. Also will need to configure a Firewall.

What else do I need to add to make it work?

Thanks for help in advance.
 
jaykay2342
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:49 pm
Location: /Vigor/LocalGroup/Milky Way/Earth/Europe/Germany

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:57 pm

Bonding is on layer 2, but your pppoe interfaces are more layer 3. AS long AS your ISP is not playing some nice equal cost multi path routing you have to do nat anyway. Search the forum there are some gold examples how to nat and loadbalance.
 
hovrashko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:13 am

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:49 pm

Bonding is on layer 2, but your pppoe interfaces are more layer 3. AS long AS your ISP is not playing some nice equal cost multi path routing you have to do nat anyway. Search the forum there are some gold examples how to nat and loadbalance.
I'm an ISP, if im not mistaken PPPoE is a Layer 2, I was able to bond 2 (6x6) with NAT (Using local Modems IP addresses) but Voice traffic doesn't work. I know how to do it on the Cisco router but we want to use MikroTik.
 
User avatar
Kreacher
Member
Member
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:58 pm
Location: Hogwarts

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Wed Oct 02, 2013 7:28 am

Hello hovrashko,

Bonding in front or WAN side is called MLPPP and this should be supported on both ends, yours and on
the side of your ISP.

Bonding the WAN interfaces would not be able for you until your ISP (internet service provider) is
also not serving you that option or function as a service also!!!

That means in real world set up, your router must support MLPPP and your ISP must offer this service to you.

Please have a closer look to this both sections inside of the MikroTik RouterOS online manual:
- MLPPP
- Manual:Policy Base Routing
- Manual:MLPPP over single and multiple links


I would suggest in your situation the following:
- Dual WAN Port Router with Load Balancing
- Policy based routing
Last edited by Kreacher on Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
hovrashko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:13 am

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:44 pm

Thank you for your replay.
Hello hovrashko,

Bonding is called MLPPP and this should be supported on both ends, yours and on the side of your ISP.
bonding the WAN interfaces would not be able for you until your ISP (internet service provider) is
also not serving you that option or function as a service also!!!

That means in real world set up, your router must support MLPPP and your ISP must offer this service to you.
As I mention already I work for the ISP, but im quite new to ATM circuits.
Please have a closer look to this both sections inside of the MikroTik RouterOS online manual:
- MLPPP
- Manual:Policy Base Routing
- Manual:MLPPP over single and multiple links
Have already explored those topics, before I even posted questions at the forum.
I would suggest in your situation the following:
- Dual WAN Port Router with Load Balancing
- Policy based routing
Just to be clear: I have a dual wan 1700 series router (about 100 of them) configured and working for most of our clients with MLPPP bonding. But i came to MikroTik forum to do it with MikroTik RouterBoard, everything else is out of the questions. We started running into some speed fluctuations problems with DSL bonding on the Cisco routers. Here is example of the Cisco dual WAN working config:
interface ATM0/0
no ip address
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
load-interval 30
atm ilmi-keepalive
dsl operating-mode auto
!
interface ATM0/0.1 point-to-point
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
pvc 0/35
random-detect
encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer
dialer pool-member 1
!
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address PUBLIC SUBNET
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
load-interval 30
speed auto
random-detect
no cdp enable
!
interface ATM1/0
no ip address
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
load-interval 30
atm ilmi-keepalive
dsl operating-mode auto
!
interface ATM1/0.1 point-to-point
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
pvc 0/35
random-detect
encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer
dialer pool-member 1
!
!
interface Dialer0
ip address negotiated
no ip redirects
no ip proxy-arp
encapsulation ppp
load-interval 30
dialer pool 1
dialer idle-timeout 2147483 either
cdp enable
ppp pap sent-username USER password 1 PASSWORD
ppp multilink
ppp multilink slippage mru 32
!
ip forward-protocol nd
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 Dialer0
So I bonded back 2 DSL connection for one username and password on ATM router. Here is what i have so far for the MikroTik:
2 Motorola 1022 modems running in bridge mode to ports 3 and 4 on SB750.
MikroTik config:
/interface ethernet
set 2 master-port=none comment="eth3" name="WAN1"
set 3 master-port=none comment="eth4" name="WAN2"
set 4 master-port=none comment="eth5" name="Local"

/interface enable Local,WAN1,WAN2

/ip dhcp-client add interface=WAN1 disabled=no
/ip dhcp-client add interface=WAN2 disabled=no


/interface pppoe-client
add service-name=ISP interface=WAN1,WAN2 user=USER password=PASSWORD disabled=no \
add-default-route=yes use-peer-dns=yes

/ip address add address=192.168.0.1/24 interface=Local

/ip dns set allow-remote-request=yes

/ip firewall nat
add chain=src-nat action=masquerade out-interface=pppoe-out1
Cant authenticate, stuck on "dialing". What are suggestions? Please note that above Cisco 1751 with dual DSL WIC's working on the same DSL lines.
Thanks for help in advance.
 
jaykay2342
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:49 pm
Location: /Vigor/LocalGroup/Milky Way/Earth/Europe/Germany

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Thu Oct 03, 2013 12:31 am

Bonding is on layer 2, but your pppoe interfaces are more layer 3. AS long AS your ISP is not playing some nice equal cost multi path routing you have to do nat anyway. Search the forum there are some gold examples how to nat and loadbalance.
I'm an ISP, if im not mistaken PPPoE is a Layer 2, I was able to bond 2 (6x6) with NAT (Using local Modems IP addresses) but Voice traffic doesn't work. I know how to do it on the Cisco router but we want to use MikroTik.
Your're right it is layer 2 but you can't bond it as slave from a bond interface.
 
hovrashko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:13 am

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Fri Oct 11, 2013 6:30 pm

any help? :(
 
jaykay2342
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:49 pm
Location: /Vigor/LocalGroup/Milky Way/Earth/Europe/Germany

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:12 pm

if your pppoe stuck at dialing i suggest to log a bit more ( debug ). If this is not sufficient enough you still can sniff the wires.
 
eightace
just joined
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:37 am

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:36 pm

 
jaykay2342
Member
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:49 pm
Location: /Vigor/LocalGroup/Milky Way/Earth/Europe/Germany

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:25 am

I think he's looking to get to get MLPPP to work, your solution is different.
 
hovrashko
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 3:13 am

Re: Bonding 2 ADSL using PPPoE with single NAT (RouterBoard

Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:34 pm

I think he's looking to get to get MLPPP to work, your solution is different.
Yes, that is correct. It does wok with 1751, but we all here on the forum want to use MikroTik gear, that is the point.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], bratislav, jaclaz, mattnl, Michiganbroadband, neki and 126 guests