Community discussions

MikroTik App

DomeMaster
just joined
Topic Author

RB951G-2HND bootloop after overwrite firmware

Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:06 am

Hello,

I love the rb951g-2hnd. I've been using 2 units for testing for 6 months now and they have worked well. We are overwriting routerOS with openWRT and our firmware. I know you don't support openWRT here, but please bare with me. We bought 20 units off you recently and intend to buy many more in the future.

After overwriting openWRT on new batch they get a bootloop after rebooting. The loop is not infinite, its always in the range of 1 to about 8 reboots and differs each time. So all lights go green, you hear a beep, and this repeats a bunch of time till it eventually boots up. Once its running it works great.

I looked at routerboot changelog and noticed that after 3.09 you expect the version of routerOS to be 5.26 or above and if not you reboot. Could this be the issue?

If so the fix would be to either:
1) Downgrade to 3.08 routerBoot
2) Somehow trick routerBoot into thinking openWRT is routerOS 5.26 or above

Please could you tell me how to do one of them. I assume downgrading is the best option. If so I've also got some routers with openWRT now, is there anyway to do a downgrade bootloader without having RouterOS on the unit? Can I just flash the mtd0 partition with the correct bootloader file i.e. ar9344-3.08.fwf.

Also I don't understand how the bootloader can be on NAND, what happens if the NAND gets corrupt, since you're can't be using yaffs2 to store the bootloader how on earth does the router recover?

Please don't tell me not to use OpenWRT we have built some very advanced software round it and we can't change now. We think the RB951G-2HND is a great platform and intend on buying many units in the future.

Thank you!

DomeMaster
just joined
Topic Author

Re: RB951G-2HND bootloop after overwrite firmware

Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:01 pm

Nobody knows? Or I have I posted on the wrong fourm?

normis