Community discussions

MikroTik App

seba1976
just joined
Topic Author

RB1100AHx2 or RB3011UiAS-RM

Tue May 10, 2016 11:37 pm

Hi,

I've never worked with MikroTik before, so I apologize for any mistakes I'm probably gonna make. Now to the point.

I work for a small company, and they have (for third party recommendations) decided they wanted a MikroTik solution. The same person who made the recommendation, suggested two possible devices for us to choose from: a RB3011UiAS-RM and a RB1100AHx2, "minimum".

We have 2 WAN providers, 3 in the near future, and 6 client PCs that need Internet access. Very small. So the question is, which device should we choose, and what are the differences between the two. Also, I don't know if it makes any difference, but I have zero experience with configuring RouterOS.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

NathanA
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: RB1100AHx2 or RB3011UiAS-RM

Wed May 11, 2016 3:21 pm

Tough call. Probably depends on your requirements and your risk tolerance:
  1. 3011 is a very new product, relatively speaking, and is also the first Routerboard of its kind (ARM CPU architecture). There could be bugs and instability this early in the game. 1100/AH has been around a while, and MikroTik has been working with its CPU architecture (PowerPC) a lot longer, and so should be more "baked in".
  2. They are both very similar in that they are both all-gigabit, 1U-rackmount, dual-core machines.
  3. The 1100 has a microSD internally for storage expansion while the 3011 doesn't.
  4. ...but the 3011 also has a USB3 port which can serve as a storage expansion port and more, while the 1100 has no USB support. (Also, USB3 storage likely to be much faster than microSD on the 1100.)
  5. They also both have two 5-port gigabit switch groups, but 1100 has 3 additional standalone gigabit interfaces.
  6. But the 3011 has an SFP port, so if you need at least one fiber connection...