Community discussions

MikroTik App

adirir
just joined
Topic Author

Router board model selection new Wireless ISP

Mon Oct 19, 2009 5:20 am

Hi,
I am new to Mikrotik product, but familiar with Cisco. Would like to setup new ISP for several cities, if success on that one main city then would like to expand to the other cities. I will have broadband via satellite, and then divide the bandwitd to home users residential. Most of these customer will not have computer in their homes, but they will use the connection as VOIP (ATA) connected to client bridge AP such as cheap CPE (nanostation2, loco2, engenius2610) ect. Some will be browsing the internet needing very small bandwidth.

I will have satelitte modem connected to RB1000 and I will have RB433AH with 2 R52N or R5H with 2 (23dbi and up antennas) set up as point to multipoint... connecting to client bridges to start in one central area of the city... then add more RB433AH as I grow... is this the way to go?

There are 2 big mountains outside the city and scattered small hills inside the city, but no big tress, or very many high bldgs, most of the city is flat... i think antenna on 300 meter poll on top one 3 story bldg can see very far away....

One more question is there any know issue with VOIP for this wireless solution that is very important...So wireless LAN to satellite broadband of 1024KB/256KB to start with may be 50 customers...

Another question.. is RB1000 is best solution for me? It is priced $685 not sure if licenses included.? Do you recommed any other models?

I Wh

adirir
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Router board model selection new Wireless ISP

Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:34 am

Hi,