RB750G Port 3 to 5 slow and losing packets
Hardware talk

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
lcx
just joined
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 3:58 pm

RB750G Port 3 to 5 slow and losing packets

by lcx » Sat Apr 10, 2010 2:10 pm

I have folowing problem with a RB750G with routerOS 4.6
If I switch connect a device to port 3,4 or 5 I have packet loss and very very slow connections.
If I connect it to the switch, which is connected on port 2 then everything is fine.
Here is my setup:
Code: Select all
 /ip address print
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic
 #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         BROADCAST       INTERFACE             
 0   ;;; default configuration
     192.168.88.1/24    192.168.88.0    192.168.88.255  ether2-local-master   
 1 D 78.92.144.146/22   78.92.144.0     78.92.147.255   ether1-gateway         


Code: Select all
 /interface print 
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave
 #     NAME                                        TYPE             MTU   L2MTU
 0  R  ether1-gateway                              ether            1500  1524
 1  R  ether2-local-master                         ether            1500  1524
 2     ether3-local-slave                          ether            1500  1524
 3     ether4-local-slave                          ether            1500  1524
 4     ether5-local-slave                          ether            1500  1524
 5  R  l2tp-out1                                   l2tp-out         1460
 6  X  OVPN-Client                                 ovpn-out       


Ping from when a device is connected to port 3
Code: Select all
ping 192.168.88.1
PING 192.168.88.1 (192.168.88.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.830 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=39.734 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=5.972 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=29.474 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=39.111 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=27.244 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=8.248 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=8.039 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=30.438 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=9 ttl=64 time=332.505 ms
Request timeout for icmp_seq 10
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=10 ttl=64 time=1832.552 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=11 ttl=64 time=856.480 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=12 ttl=64 time=1.424 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=13 ttl=64 time=1407.067 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=14 ttl=64 time=577.481 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=15 ttl=64 time=79.095 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=16 ttl=64 time=16.764 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=17 ttl=64 time=14.521 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=18 ttl=64 time=44.496 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=19 ttl=64 time=333.641 ms



Ping when the same device is connected to the switch on port 2

Code: Select all
ping 192.168.88.1
PING 192.168.88.1 (192.168.88.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=1.337 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.173 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=1.208 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=1.088 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=1.110 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=2.349 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=6 ttl=64 time=1.204 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=7 ttl=64 time=1.766 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.88.1: icmp_seq=8 ttl=64 time=1.803 ms


what could be wrong here?

meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G Port 3 to 5 slow and losing packets

by meno » Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:32 am

try to use port1 and (2-5) and see if get better

hedele
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:23 am

Re: RB750G Port 3 to 5 slow and losing packets

by hedele » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:13 am

meno wrote:try to use port1 and (2-5) and see if get better

This has no effect on a RB750G, as the ethernet interfaces are connected to the same interface on the CPU.
It does help on a RB450G however. Still, I guess the problems might be some kind of configuration issue. I have never seen a RB750G where one ethernet port would produce such latencies.

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pants6000, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests

It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:32 am