Community discussions

MikroTik App

scoop591
just joined
Topic Author

Looking to buy a routerboard, need some advice.

Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:05 pm

Hi,

I'm looking to find a replacement for my existing router Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 with DD-WRT). I want to move to 802.11n and a gigabit lan, but most of the hardware that meets those requirements doesn't have great DD-WRT support. I stumbled across Routerboard and RouterOS and I think I'd like to make the move to this platform. The configuration of RouterOS is a little more in depth than I'm accustomed to, but I'm a A+ tech who builds my own computers, (I'm working on my Network+); so I figure it would be a good learning opportunity to use something other than DD-WRT or stock router firmware. Here's what I need some help with:

Where to buy - I see a few places like roc-noc.com that will put together the box for me for a small fee. I wouldn't mind paying $10 to $20 for someone experienced to piece it together for me, so that's a plus.

I have a budget of $200 - If I have to buy a separate gigabit switch, though, that's no big deal.

I want to get 802.11n and gigabit - I could buy a separate gigabit switch, so if the box doesn't have more than 2 or 3 ports, that's not an issue. I'm not sure what to look for in a good 802.11 n radio, so any advice is appreciated.

Antennae? - I just want to be able to connect from my neighbor's house, but not necessarily the whole neighborhood.

My setup is as follows: ISP > DHCP cable modem > (ROUTER) > Lan (I only mention that because it looks like some folks on this forum run ISPs and I don't plan on doing that.

Any advice you could offer would be very appreciated.

Thanks!

scoop591
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Looking to buy a routerboard, need some advice.

Fri Jun 18, 2010 8:25 pm