RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?
Hardware talk

15 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sariao » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:43 pm

i am trying to setup the date and time manually on my RB1100, every time when i restart the box date and time return to it is original setting year 2002!
is that normal? i mean i am not using NTP client and why should i ?!

Routerboard Ver: 2.30
Router Ver: 4.16

Regards...
Sariman

User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by mrz » Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:50 pm

None of the RouterBoards have battery except RB200. So you have to use NTP.

User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sariao » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:16 pm

i Really dont understand the concept behind using NTP only! at least you could keep the tame saved on the local disk before it ReSync with NTP server!

NTP takes time to reset system time after rebooting the system, what happen to user manager and Hotsopt during this time? they will give false login response!
Sariman

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19267
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by normis » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:19 pm

why do you need to reboot the router so often? keep it on all the time, and when you need maintenance, reboot when nobody wants to connect (4:00AM).

and that time to get NTP is about 3 seconds
No answer to your question? How to write posts

User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sariao » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:48 pm

as often as i need to install new update!
despite the often rebooting, are you sure that running "user manager" service with wrong date and time would not affect the database even if no users trying to connect? what about graphing? what if the NTP server toke more that 3 sec? what if the internet was down for some reason!

again i am talking about system rebooting where the board remain powered so you dont need a battery to beep time running correctly!

from my point of view keeping time saved is essential for people using router board as hotspot with usermanager

Best Regards...
Sariman

User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 6221
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sergejs » Thu Jan 27, 2011 4:59 pm

despite the often rebooting, are you sure that running "user manager" service with wrong date and time would not affect the database even if no users trying to connect? what about graphing? what if the NTP server toke more that 3 sec? what if the internet was down for some reason!


If internet is down, User Manager does not work/HotSpot does not work.
There will be correct data for graphs after reboot,
http://demo2.mt.lv/graphs/cpu/
however you can use remote SNMP collector to get the most precise information.

User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sariao » Thu Jan 27, 2011 6:51 pm

To whom it may concern, this script will save time and date every 10 sec and apply it after system reboot till system get SYNC with NTP Client
the script will create 2 disabled users account [date] and [time] only to keep record of date and time.

Just paste this code in your router terminal
Code: Select all
/system script
add name=fixclock policy=ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,password,sniff,sensitive source=\
    "/system clock set date=[/user get date comment]\r\
    \n/system clock set time=[/user get time comment]"
add name=setclockfix policy=ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,password,sniff,sensitive source=":if ([:pick [\
    /system clock get date] 7 30]>=[:pick [/user get date comment] 7 30]) do={\r\
    \n/user set date comment=[/system clock get date]\r\
    \n/user set time comment=[/system clock get time]\r\
    \n}\r\
    \n"

/system scheduler
add comment="" disabled=no interval=0s name=fixclock on-event=fixclock policy=write,test start-time=startup
add comment="" disabled=no interval=10s name=setclockfix on-event=setclockfix policy=write,test start-date=\
    jan/01/1970 start-time=00:00:00


/user
add address=1.1.1.1/32 disabled=yes group=read name=date
add address=1.1.1.1/32 disabled=yes group=read name=time

Sariman

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19267
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by normis » Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:30 am

I still don't understand why this matters. When router has been rebooted, nothing works anyway, and when it comes up, the logs and graphs are not disturbed by those few seconds of year 1970
No answer to your question? How to write posts

User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by sariao » Fri Jan 28, 2011 2:10 pm

when i reboot my router NTP it needs at least 20 sec to Resync i have more than 100 users authenticate over userman so i dont want to take this risk. unless you tell me that no service will start until date get synchronized?!
Sariman

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19267
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by normis » Mon Jan 31, 2011 8:43 am

NTP gets synced not much more after the wireless drivers load, so there is no big outage. Just check yourself! Do a reboot and see how many log lines have incorrect date!
No answer to your question? How to write posts

mm690
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 8:38 pm

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by mm690 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:28 pm

If there are no immediate log entries after a reboot, its also nice to see in the logs exactly what time a router rebooted instead of having to calculate the uptime. ;)

hedele
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:23 am

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by hedele » Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:29 am

@normis: ever thought about how it would be nice to know when a "unwanted reboot, probably power outage?" happened? ;)
That's what you need a clock battery for...

if I connect to a router which has had several power outages, all of them are shown as 1.1.1970 at 02:00:02 .... very helpful... not.

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19267
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by normis » Tue Feb 01, 2011 9:23 am

external logging + the dude for monitoring reboots
No answer to your question? How to write posts

taduikis
Member
Member
 
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by taduikis » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:20 pm

I too think that putting RTC and a battery in at least higher-end RBs wouldn't hurt :) Why should you suffer any inconveniences?

Besides, there are some bugs in RouterOS itself that has not yet been fixed and seems like it's not going to be.
Like this one for example: viewtopic.php?p=230337#p230337
Here is your answer for "why would you want to reboot your router very often?".

kuntash
just joined
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 2:56 pm

Re: RB1100 Does it have battery for clock?

by kuntash » Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:10 am

it really would have been nice to have a battery that backs up ROM after power off.

taking into cognizance of mikrotik device usage in the developing world where power outages go off without planning for it.

I got to this post because I was looking for a a mikrotik router that has a backup of dates in the event of power going out...

I currently use 951-2n as a hotspot, after a restart lots of things wipe out, and when having backup , its nice to have the dates ... what do u think?

15 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bajodel, Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, honzam and 15 guests

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:08 pm