RB2011 - want more information - many questions
Hardware talk

26 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
TomjNorthIdaho
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho

RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by TomjNorthIdaho » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:44 am

My thoughts on the new RB2011 (1 SFP, 5 10/100 ethernet, 5 gigabit ethernet, wallmount case)

#1 - If this could be used for a FTTH (Fiber-To-The-Home) then why 10 Ethernet ports? At most, I could see using 3 Ethernet ports. One Ethernet port for in-house customer Internet data - a Second Ethernet port for a dedicated IP SIP network device - a Third Ethernet port for a Dedicated IP-TV network. Although with with the extra ports you would not need a hub-switch to connect up more customer IP devices.

#2 - Does this new RB2011 have alarm contacts for a UPS and other devices? A UPS would need at least 2 status contacts for UPS on AC power or battery, and a set of contacts for UPS failure. Other contacts could be battery voltage and door open. Note - as a CLEC or ILEC (telephone company) you must be able to operate on battery when the AC power goes out (federal law here in the US). So how do we know the status of the UPS (or remotely test the UPS)?

#3 - Do any of the Ethernet ports supply power to a Power-Over-Ethernet device such as a SIP line powered phone? If not - then we might need a second battery power supply UPS for SIP phones.

#4 - Can this work in a Fiber Active-Ethernet and/or a G-PON network? (note - a PON network is single uplink port using passive optical splitters to/from 4 clients to up to 64 client devices in the PON.)

#5 - Is the SFP port strictly 1-gig or does it support faster fiber modules?

#6 - In a FTTx (FTTH) network of dozens, hundreds or thousands of RB2011 units, what head-end equipment is supported (for Active-Ethernet and/or G-PON networks)? Is there any testing being done with any FTTH head-end products - or is this strictly a SOHO small network product?

#7 - When will this unit be available for testing? When will it be available by the thousands - and lead time? Is there any estimated pricing? I hope this product is not priced higher than other popular FTTx (FTTH) products.

#8 - Like other FTTH products - can this be available with a 10-year warranty?

We are starting to design/build a FTTH netowork which will start at around 5,000 devices. Our next phase will be an additional 18,000 devices. At this moment in time, I do not have any hardware decisioin locked in for head-end or client devices. How do we get information and when can we review the product and find out if the price is close to other FTTH devices.

Tom Jones - Coeur d'Alene Tribe (North Idaho)

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5910
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by janisk » Fri Mar 11, 2011 4:03 pm

#1 - lets start counting - so incoming optic - phone, tv, maybe other set-top-box. Wifi laptop/tablet/mobile, on internal 100/10 ethernets - stationary PC, DVD player, game console - as result customer has 1 device to rule them all

#2 it has USB port - so if you have UPS - connect it that way and set it up. In routeros 5 you will be able to read UPS information through SNMP, not only from CLI or API

and product is still in development.

TomjNorthIdaho
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:25 pm
Location: North Idaho

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by TomjNorthIdaho » Fri Mar 11, 2011 5:01 pm

janisk wrote:#2 it has USB port - so if you have UPS - connect it that way and set it up. In routeros 5 you will be able to read UPS information through SNMP, not only from CLI or API
and product is still in development.


Hmmm, in all of the brand-name popular commercial FTTH products I have been looking at, all of the ONTs use UPS contacts. So, now we need a smart UPS with USB contacts for each FTTH customer -and- a re-write of the FTTH management software at the head-end to understand how to talk to the USB interface to get the status of the UPS.

I wonder what FTTx (FTTH) market this is designed for - SOHO ??? If this is for large scale deployments in the hundreds, thousands, tens-of-thousands then it just does not add up.

Without more information, I am only guessing if this is something I can use.

HaQs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 101
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:26 pm
Location: POLAND

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by HaQs » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:24 am

Any chance to support GEPON or GPON with ROS ?

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by nz_monkey » Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:24 am

Tom,

I Agree on the alarm contacts point.

As for Active vs Passive, this device is only really suitable for Active fibre deployments. As it is SFP based, this means 1gigabit modules. You could potentially use BIDI modules in it to get gigabit down a single fibre, or could use WDM modules at the headend with a multiplexer, then passive splits off to clients (but the cost would be high, you might as well just go Active BIDI for the ease of it)

For "head-end" equipment it depends on your deployment, e.g. straight L2/PPPoE, L3 or MPLS.

Since this product is still being developed, most of the above is based on the information available, and may change/be wrong ;)
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5910
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by janisk » Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:34 am

TomjNorthIdaho wrote:
janisk wrote:#2 it has USB port - so if you have UPS - connect it that way and set it up. In routeros 5 you will be able to read UPS information through SNMP, not only from CLI or API
and product is still in development.


Hmmm, in all of the brand-name popular commercial FTTH products I have been looking at, all of the ONTs use UPS contacts. So, now we need a smart UPS with USB contacts for each FTTH customer -and- a re-write of the FTTH management software at the head-end to understand how to talk to the USB interface to get the status of the UPS.

you only have to manage connection to RotuerOS, and add OID in your SNMP monitoring tool.

User avatar
sardegnawifi
just joined
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:21 pm
Location: Palau, Sardinia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by sardegnawifi » Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:33 pm

HaQs wrote:Any chance to support GEPON or GPON with ROS ?

:(
The World is now a better place because one more Wi-Fi Hot Spot Exists

skype: sardegnawifi

oeyre
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 12:48 pm

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by oeyre » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:41 am

Approximately how large will the rack mount unit be?

IE does it consume the entire horizontal space in the rack or could I fit 2 side by side with some kind of shelf accessory?

Any thoughts on having 2 SFP slots for redundancy?

Lots of FTTx deployments are using Ethernet OAM for fault finding and performance testing. Any plans to support that?

User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 5910
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 10:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by janisk » Tue Mar 22, 2011 1:32 pm

with quick look at the device - 2 placed side by side would be very close to filling up all horizontal space.

ciphercore
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:48 pm

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by ciphercore » Tue Mar 22, 2011 4:39 pm

Any info on the CPU in this thing ?

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by nz_monkey » Sat May 28, 2011 1:16 pm

I correct myself, the RB2011 will be able to be used on GEPON networks via the use of a GEPON ONU SFP module.

Hopefully it supports reading the DMI info (SFF-8472)... HINT HINT ;)
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by Beccara » Mon May 30, 2011 2:30 am

I highly doubt any FTTH deployment in the world would allow you to plug this in to a GEPON network. GEPON is a fickle beast and vendors wont support a network where the endpoint node is a 3rd party unit. Atleast dont expect this in NZ nz_monkey :P

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by nz_monkey » Mon May 30, 2011 2:36 am

im not ;)

Would be useful on small private PON deployments. Mikrotik just need a Cavium based device with modular expansion and SFP slots to act as an ONT/HeadEnd device...
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by Beccara » Mon May 30, 2011 2:42 am

So Mikrotik basically need a juniper? :P

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by nz_monkey » Mon May 30, 2011 3:41 am

Well as long as it's not a J series or SRX.

J Series are just plain terrible, and SRX are full of bugs. FYI an RB1200 is faster than a SRX240

MX is where the good stuff starts.
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

oeyre
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 12:48 pm

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by oeyre » Fri Aug 12, 2011 8:03 am

Can someone from MikroTik comment on whether there will be an official shelf accessory, with 2 drawers to mount 2x RB2011 side by side in the one rack unit?

Ideally you should also be able to mount a cable management bracket on either side like so: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/routers ... #wp1224842

User avatar
macgaiver
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 5:57 pm
Location: Sol III, Sol system, Sector 001, Alpha Quadrant

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by macgaiver » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:25 am

So far there has been only one board, per case/shelf solution, and i think they will keep it this way.

I'm sure that there will be some MFM cases with this solution, if it will make sense.
I know what i don't know, do you?

wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by wildbill442 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:09 pm

SFP ports are a step in the right direction.. I need this today.. upgraded to a GigE port and our provider will only hand this off in optical format.... When do these ship??
William Burnett
Network Engineer

laurinkus
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:05 pm
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by laurinkus » Mon Jan 23, 2012 4:48 am

Will it support MetaROUTER?

ether1 is PoE in or out?

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19286
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by normis » Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:12 am

laurinkus wrote:Will it support MetaROUTER?

ether1 is PoE in or out?


this device doesn't have PoE out. Unless the device has a letter "P" (power out) in it's name, there is no PoE out.
No answer to your question? How to write posts

wildbill442
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:29 am
Location: Sacramento, CA

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by wildbill442 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:48 am

@normis,


Any idea when these will be shipping ? Still waiting to get my hands on one with an SFP port.
William Burnett
Network Engineer

User avatar
savage
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 866
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by savage » Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:07 pm

Also very keen on these in terms of ETAs for shipping. 10 x Ethernet IMHO is too much though. I too, would personally rather prefer to settle for 1 or 2 x SFP, 5 x Gigabit, and perhaps (I know I'm pushing it), 4 x FXO...

Really cool device, I seriously hope they deliver - especially in the FTTx market.
Regards,
Chris

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19286
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by normis » Fri Feb 17, 2012 3:12 pm

hold on for an announcement very soon
No answer to your question? How to write posts

InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:44 pm
Location: Neptun, Romania

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by InoX » Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:34 pm

any chance to make a version with poe out on both gigabit and 100mbps ports?

Łukasz
newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:03 pm

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by Łukasz » Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:26 pm

InoX wrote:any chance to make a version with poe out on both gigabit and 100mbps ports?


+1

DiabolixZA
newbie
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: RB2011 - want more information - many questions

by DiabolixZA » Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:26 pm

Łukasz wrote:
InoX wrote:any chance to make a version with poe out on both gigabit and 100mbps ports?


+1


+1

26 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 15 guests

It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 3:07 am