Community discussions

MikroTik App

cAfstA
just joined
Topic Author

Powering 2 rb's

Sat Jul 05, 2014 1:34 am

Hi guys.

I'm new to the whole networking/wireless scene. I read a few documents and watch a few clips and tutorials as to how things work so am learning as I go along.

For the better part of 5 years I've used a rb433 but never fiddled with it or experimented. Now I'm wanting to learn so have upgraded the rb to a rb433uah and purchased a rb711g. I have a 30dbi dish connected to the rb711g and on the rb433uah I have a 24dbi dish and two 27dbi grids.

Now my dilemma is this. How do I power both rb's, using one cat5 cable running from the rb's on the pole to my poe inside by my pc. Is this possible or do I have to run two cat5 cables.

Any help is appreciated.
Thank you and kind regards.

Sent from my LT25i using Tapatalk

cAfstA
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Powering 2 rb's

Mon Jul 07, 2014 12:59 pm

Anyone have suggestions or advice?

honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:07 pm

Petzl
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:33 am

just do POE mod on the board , then you can send the incomming power to the next board ... we do it wit up to 8 devices on 1 board (RB493)

cAfstA
just joined
Topic Author

Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:13 am

@honzam... Thank you for the response but I have one of those and it still only powers one rb unless I'm doing something wrong.

@Petzl... Thank you too. Do you have a link as to how to do this mod and what is needed.

docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:46 am

Or add a RB260GSP switch to the group if the budget allows.
You get power consumption monitoring, selective power down/remote reset, wire speed filtering et. al.
And you will have 2 additional PoE ports available for further expansion.
It will fit in a small weather proofed housing on the pole...
(I use this setup with 2 Nanostations, the switch being in the attic).

dohmniq
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:40 am