Community discussions

MikroTik App

kintho
just joined
Topic Author

Which RouterBoard to replace ZyXel firewall?

Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:47 pm

Hi all,
I've some experience with the ZyXel firewall specially the USG-60W, USG-40W and USG-20W.

I was wondering if there are RouterBoards that can replace them in terms of performance/functionalities.

For example if I have three sites with 5 / 10 / 25 users what are the right Mikrotik models I need to choose?

Thank you.

websn1per
just joined

Re: Which RouterBoard to replace ZyXel firewall?

Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:58 pm

I have played with these for a bit in an ISP setting using several different models.
I have found that in general:
<100Mbps with normal packets = RB750 (Small Office)
100Mbps to 1Gbps with normal packets = RB1100 (Apartment Community)
500Mbps to 10Gbps - any packet size = CCR1016 -CCR1036 or ROS on your hardware for larger businesses or BGP links.
Firewall rules can be tricky until you play with them for a while but you soon will realize that this firewall can do ... anything from block hackers to cooking breakfast.

Some specific situations require more specific models for PoE, Wireless, etc. ...

Again this is generally speaking and based on what we currently use.

Good Luck,
T

Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member

Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:14 am

depend config.
some setups - can easily screw/overhelm even 72-core CCR's.
how bout 850gx2 or upcoming rb3011 ?
if aren't short on money then in terms of investments, CCR1009-PC(passively-cooled) may be nice choice(for future, with horsepower reserver for tomorrow needs), cuz its "only" 2.5x more expensive, but SIGNIFICANTLY more powerful.
60g for example - advertised as 1000Mbps throughput(with 1518 packets) with SPI. which is about 1.5x more than rb2011 did, for example.so even 850gx2 would be faster.

ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Thu Apr 09, 2015 7:59 pm

So long as you're routing less than 100Mbps of traffic, the 2011 family is great.