Bandwidth control - Limit At and Max Limit
RouterOS general discussion

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Brazil

Bandwidth control - Limit At and Max Limit

by conchalnet » Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:48 pm

Hi all,

I started to use mikrotik since a month and now I need to control the bandwidth for each client mine.

I'm thinking in use simple queues to do this control. I don't know waht's the best form to do this control and I want the opnion of all.

I've three bandwidth values:
Upload/Download
64Kbps/128Kbps
64Kbps/256Kbps
128Kbps/512Kbps

What's the best form to configure the queues for each client and what is the best queue type to be used in this case?

How do I must configure the Limit at and Max limit??? PS: My clients have a shared link with CIR of 64Kbps.

PS: I'm using the mikrotik in ap bridge, because I've three towers in my city and just one gw to my network.

Thanks in advance
Last edited by conchalnet on Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 6221
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

by sergejs » Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:54 pm

you may use queues (pcq queues), and mangle to mark with 3 different marks users.
(because you have 3 different bandwdith limits)

conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Brazil

by conchalnet » Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:04 pm

OK sergejs,

But I want to use simple queues and create a queue to each client. In this form I'll be able to see the current traffic of each client on the queue.

I want to know what is the best form to configurate the simple queue to control the bandwidth of download and upload.

Thanks

User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 6221
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

by sergejs » Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:09 pm

one simple queue for one client, here are configuration examples:
http://www.mikrotik.com/docs/ros/2.9/ro ... ent#6.54.6

conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Brazil

by conchalnet » Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:37 pm

sergejs

How is you opnion about how I've to configure the parameters limit-at and max-limit???

How I saw in the first question my clients have a shared Internet link with CIR of the 64Kbps.

Thanks again

pedrogn
just joined
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 11:49 pm

by pedrogn » Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 am

Hi Fabricio (are you brazilian too?)

I supose that you are using mikrotik that same way i do. Are you a wISP?

I currently use simple queue to control the bandwidth of my customers, for example:

open the terminal console and type:
queue simple <enter>

and type:

add name="Apto444" target-addresses=10.10.4.44/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=ether2 parent=none priority=8 queue=default/default limit-at=64000/128000 max-limit=64000/128000 burst-limit=128000/192000 burst-threshold=32000/32000 burst-time=8s/8s total-queue=default

doing this, open the winbox interface on queues, and you will see and undestand how to create this by winbox.

you can use limit-at and max-limit with same value.

the bust parameter is optional, but it is a good ideia cause the web navigation will be improved and your customer will be dazzle.

conchalnet
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 265
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:44 pm
Location: Brazil

by conchalnet » Fri Nov 04, 2005 4:41 am

Hi pedrogn,

I'm Brazilian yep! are you too???

What do the bursts parameters do exactly???

And if i use the limit-at and max-limit with the same value what will happen when my backbone is full??? How does the mikrotik divide the bandwidth in this situation??? The limit-at is not the CIR???

I'm from Conchal/SP :), where I've a WISP :(, if you interesting in contact me my email is:
fabricio in conchalnet.com.br.

Regards

User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 6221
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

by sergejs » Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:20 am

first goes max-limit, if there will be not enough resources, than accordingly goes limit-at.

about burst, you read queue documentation.

User avatar
larmaid
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 3:06 pm

by larmaid » Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:02 am

@pedrogn

add name="test" target-addresses=10.10.x.x/32 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 interface=ether2 parent=none priority=8 queue=default/default limit-at=64000/128000 max-limit=64000/128000 burst-limit=128000/192000 burst-threshold=32000/32000 burst-time=8s/8s total-queue=default

the interface= inbone / outbone......?

and the result:

sometimes upload rate is bigger then max-limit and the queued bytes shows 0/0 B.

and can u tell the easy way what is burst-limit,burst-threshold n burst-time do for sure....!i read the manual i still dont get it.....?
i like it

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: engmas1984, wonkbloon, Yahoo [Bot] and 25 guests

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 8:40 am