RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards
Wireless networks

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
x7razor
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 pm

RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by x7razor » Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:15 pm

Hi

i have a R52HN g2g link to my access point and the access point has 2xR52 radio cards for other g2g links and 1 R52HN for my g2g link with a 15v 0.8A POE.Cause my link preform worse than the r52 links.I get allot of no beacons received and lost connection in my logs.Any info would be appreciated.thanks

1)Is the power enough?
2)Can the rb433 handle the 3 cards and would the 2 r52 links make the n link perform badly?

User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain

Re: RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by Ibersystems » Mon Jul 04, 2011 1:44 pm

Point 1: Use bigger power supply.

Point 2: If you disable the 2 r52 cards, the N link is working better? If yes -> yes, the r52 cards are doing interferences to the n card. If not, there is another problem.
A 433 can handle 3 cards without problems.
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE

SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by SurferTim » Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:01 pm

Are any of the lost connections due to extensive data loss? How is your signal and noise on the channel?
It might help if you enabled verbose logging on the wireless in both the AP and the station.

Code: Select all
/system logging
add topics=wireless,debug action=memory


If you are not getting any "extensive data loss", the signal is good, and the noise floor is low, then maybe you should look at this post:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=49306

Once you enable verbose logging, see if your station is receiving another access point other than the intended one. You might see something like this in the station log. Note the two APs.
jan/14 02:46:53 wireless,info 00:0C:42:60:F9:CE@wlan1: lost connection, no beacons received
jan/14 02:46:55 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
jan/14 02:46:55 wireless,debug 00:0C:42:60:F9:CE: on 5825 AP: yes SSID WiFiBridgeMain caps 0x421 rates 0xff00 basic 0x100 MT: yes
jan/14 02:46:55 wireless,debug 00:0C:42:23:32:A0: on 5745 AP: yes SSID WiFiBridge1 caps 0x421 rates 0xff00 basic 0x100 MT: yes
jan/14 02:46:55 wireless,info 00:0C:42:60:F9:CE@wlan1 established connection on 5825, SSID WiFiBridgeMain

x7razor
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 pm

Re: RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by x7razor » Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:00 pm

i did receive allot of lost connections and no beacons received but we change the freq and its allot better.signal is -62 on both sides and noise floor is -112dbm and signal to noise is 48db

No i only get no beacons received in my log
i don't know much about wireless but here is the log

jan/02/1970 02:00:15 interface,info ether1 link up (speed 100M, full duplex)
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,debug wlan1: must select network
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,debug 00:15:6D:A0:B6:A1: on 5260 AP: yes SSID WINX caps 0x401 rates 0xff00 basic 0x1500 MT: yes
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,debug 00:0C:42:64:6B:00: on 5300 AP: yes SSID ctwug-razor caps 0x401 rates 0x700 basic 0x700 MT: yes
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by default choose with strongest signal
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,info 00:0C:42:64:6B:00@wlan1 established connection on 5300, SSID ctwug-razor

SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by SurferTim » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:22 pm

Did you read that other post?

Did you try setting the mac address of the AP radio in the station connect list?
Code: Select all
/interface wireless connect-list
add mac-address=00:0C:42:64:6B:00 interface=wlan1 connect=yes

When you do that, this line will no longer appear in the new disconnect messages in the station log:
jan/02/1970 02:00:17 wireless,debug wlan1: no network that satisfies connect-list, by default choose with strongest signal

Once you are certain the connect list entry is correct, then try changing the station default-authentication setting.
Code: Select all
/interface wireless
set wlan1 default-authentication=no

If your system is like mine, the rest of those disconnect messages will stop. Let me know how that works.

Just a warning. If the mac address is not correct in the connect list, the station will disconnect and not reconnect until you set the default-authentication=yes or enter the correct mac address in the station connect list.

ADD: I do not see this as a bug. To me, this is a feature that must be disabled if you don't want the station to roam.

Actually, I believe the bug is in a different place. When you set "default-authentication=yes" again, it does not resume roaming.

x7razor
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 pm

Re: RB433: Can It handle 3 Radio Cards

by x7razor » Thu Jul 07, 2011 8:37 pm

Thanks allot.

yes i did read the other post.will let u know what happens as soon as i get the admin of my access point so he can change the settings on his side

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests

It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:58 am