Community discussions

MikroTik App

smhula
just joined
Topic Author

HotSpoto Limited Connection

Wed May 21, 2014 12:01 am

Hi everyone, i'm very new to Mikrotik world, but have some time with Unix, Linux, cisco and windows.

Well what happens is i have activated a hotspot and limiting the user by download size,
All works fine and the controls works fine as well (i'm writing connected to it now),
but there's two computers that can't connect through the hotspot, it keep get's the IP from the DHCP Server correctly
but it can't redirect the page to the login, it keep failing when trying to do that.

consequently the windows keep saying "Connected but No Internet Access"
how can i work this out, if you could send a link with information i would be glad, or if any one have faced and solved this issue please help.

If this was already discussed please point me to the link

Regards

scotthammersley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: HotSpoto Limited Connection

Thu May 22, 2014 10:16 pm

You can try a couple of things. First make sure that nothing is interrupting the connectivity of the hosts to the hotspot. Then try bypassing then hosts and see if they get online. If there are still not online at that point, you know its not the hotspot and that its some other type of networking issue. We see this all the time, when we are expecting a client to be connected properly, but they really are not. Once they are bypassed, troubleshoot like it is any other network connectivity problem. Once you have it working, remove the ip binding and try authenticate them again.

smhula
just joined
Topic Author

Sat May 24, 2014 5:12 pm

Hi scotthammersley,

Thanks for being there to help us with routerOS (It has been a very impressive learning experience for me because of people like you)

i have managed to do what you said (bypass), even marked the MAC:IP as static to avoid the computer to pic another ip
while was testing

IP-->Hotspot-->IP Binding
MAC Address: XX:XX:XX....
Server: all