Community discussions

MikroTik App

Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

RF Element's "Symmetrical Antennas"

Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:13 pm

Has anyone tried the "Symmetrical Antennas" from RF elements?

http://simper.rfelements.com/assets/Upl ... asheet.pdf

I will be deploying sector antennas very soon for PtMP connections (back haul links for CPEs). I have zero experience with this type of setup and I must say, this stuff from RF elements looks to be better; but then again I'm very green.

Is this really better than the traditional sector antennas for this this applications?

honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: RF Element's "Symmetrical Antennas"

Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:58 am

It is not on the market now. It is planned for Q1 2015

Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:01 am

It is not on the market now. It is planned for Q1 2015
Any thoughts on the theory behind it?

Particularly in comparison to the traditional rectangular sectors.

docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:08 am

It is just a plain and simple horn antenna. These where commonly used as exciters in prime focus satellite antennas years ago.
Basically, a microstrip array panel as those used in the sectors is a more modern concept.
And building a sector with a similar pattern is no big deal either. Just that no one needs a sector like that.
Last edited by docmarius on Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Arcee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:13 am

It is just a plain and simple horn antenna. These where commonly used as exciters in prime focus satellite antennas years ago.
Basically, a microstrip array panel as those used in the sectors is a more modern concept.
And building a sector with a similar pattern is no big deal either.
Would you use it in place of the traditional sector antennas?

docmarius
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Fri Jan 02, 2015 1:28 am

That depends on what I would try to achieve.