Backup Dude
Questions and Suggestions for The Dude Network Monitor

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ferry
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:59 pm

Backup Dude

by ferry » Tue Jul 31, 2007 5:50 am

Dear all,

I have dude monitoring in my network to monitor all my client. Can i backup the dude? Maybe every week? There must be a scipt isn't it?


Thx Before.. :D

Regards,

Ferry

winkelman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 5:00 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Backup Dude

by winkelman » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:17 pm

I do it manually by exporting the configuration from within The Dude. Don't know if it's scriptable...

ferry
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 12:59 pm

Re: Backup Dude

by ferry » Wed Aug 01, 2007 5:41 am

:lol: The things i want to ask is backup by script :D

Anybody know?

User avatar
Nutcracker
newbie
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: Backup Dude

by Nutcracker » Wed Aug 15, 2007 4:39 pm

I am trying to do the same thing. I am monitoring my whole network with SMS notifications and I can't afford the Dude to crash and then not have a back-up. Also the back-ups are to big to email, so it needs to be transferred to a remote server(probably Linux) via FTP or something.

I really thought there would be a option for this somewhere on the Dude, but it turns out there isn't :(

For now I am left with manually backing it up and then copying it to the remote server :( :( :(

This would REALLY be a great addition to an already great program.

User avatar
iam8up
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:58 pm
Location: Troy, OH

Re: Backup Dude

by iam8up » Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:13 pm

We really need to be able to automate backups from both Dude and Mikrotik.

The lack of automated backups is a real waste of time and effort.

We would be willing to have a MikroTik hosted remote backup service....

keith
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 12:30 am

Re: Backup Dude

by keith » Sat Nov 15, 2008 12:22 am

Kind of a work around but if you are running in windows environment create a scheduled task that runs weekly that executes a batch file that zips the file then either emails it or ftps it somewhere. something like

@echo off
set HH=%TIME:~0,2%
if "%time:~0,1%"==" " set HH=0%HH:~1,1%
set YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS=%DATE:~10,4%-%DATE:~4,2%-%DATE:~7,2%_%HH%%TIME:~3,2%%TIME:~6,2%
alzip -a "C:\program files\dude", "c:\backups\dude%YYYYMMDD_HHMMSS%.zip"


You could then extend the script to copy it to another server or ftp it to a server

ccr
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:40 pm
Location: Iowa, USA

Re: Backup Dude

by ccr » Mon Nov 17, 2008 11:14 pm

Everytime we have tried to upload an export it has not worked. It could be because we had pictures uploaded and Router OS versions uploaded to it. I would do a hard drive backup.

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

It is currently Fri Nov 28, 2014 11:21 pm