Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Phase
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Ukraine

Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:04 pm

Hi all!

Here is my script for making dude backup's from PC's remotely. Probably, it will be useful for someone.
It requires:
  • Bourne shell (sh)
  • awk
  • wget
To start using it just fill your admin login, password and server name and add to cron (or start by hand).
Backup XML files and log by default will be placed in "dude-backup-files" subdirectory. You can change this option if you need this.

Tested on FreeBSD 6.2, RouterOS 3.28 (x86), Dude 3.4.



------------------------------------------------
* ver 1.0 - first public release
* ver 1.1 - fixed work with cron
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Phase on Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:55 pm

I can't seem to get it working on 3.27 x86 dude 3.4. I don't think it's your script though because I can't download from the web interface either: Import/Export -> Dude configuration XML export. Attached is the log generated from your script.

Any ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Phase
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:20 am

This script just automatize backup procedure through web-interface. If you cannot receive a copy through the web interface then also the script will not work.
 
dssmiktik
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 732
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 8:42 am

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:03 pm

That makes sense.
 
Phase
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:56 pm

Today I have detected very unpleasant error in a script. Through this error it was not work with cron.

All, who use script must update to ver 1.1.
 
rferroni
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:37 pm

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:23 pm

thanks!!! it's realy helpful.
/rodrigo
 
User avatar
ltsakev
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:15 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:21 am

Hi guys,
the theme and it was interesting to see if it worked? I want to attach an example which IP addresses where to and that you can make backup of the Windows OS.
I would be grateful if you attach a picture of your patterns and where IP addresses are printed insert asterisks.

best regards
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:59 am

It works greate.
The only problem may appear because the dude sometimes stops responding on WEB interface.
It cause backup to fail.
I would be grateful if you attach a picture of your patterns and where IP addresses are printed insert asterisks.
what do you mean a picture of your patterns?
 
User avatar
ltsakev
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:15 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:39 am

I fixed it did is, it works great. We try to get him not to delete backups from previous days, and keep backups 1 week?!
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Jun 11, 2010 12:21 pm

We try to get him not to delete backups from previous days, and keep backups 1 week?!
I just commented

# rm -f $backupdir/old/*
# rm -d $backupdir/old

and sheduled the cron on my FreeBSD to delete backup files older then 10 days.

25 01 * * * /usr/bin/find /usr/dudebackup/data/old/ -name "*" -mtime +10 -exec rm -f {} \;
 
ormwish
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:03 am

Cool script. simple, useful, scalable.

But i have a problem. Seriously problem.
My network contents over 7k devices.
I understand, that Dude don't keep their config anytime on harddrive, rewriting with certain interval. Dude generate their XML from RAM ? On my server, with 700 devices on monitoring with Dude(other devices planned after all troubles will defeat), when i start backup XML - for generating process Dude "eat" ~20 min. and after this time i have download dialog.
In this view - we have a big trouble. WGET send request for autorization, after that download. De jure - download has start. De facto - start the process of generating XML-code and only then download will start.
How result we have 0B downloaded *.xml file.

may be who know solution for this trouble?
 
User avatar
gsandul
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 1:42 pm

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:34 am

Hi, ormwish
Probably you should move to Dude 4.0 Beta.
The backup on 4.0 is faster and backup file size is lower (in my case it is redused for 10 times from 120Mb to 12Mb).
 
ormwish
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Thu Jul 08, 2010 12:38 pm

Запрос HTTP послан, ожидание ответа... 
  HTTP/1.0 200 OK
  Connection: close
  Content-Length: 0
  Content-Type: text/xml
  Date: Thu, 08 Jul 2010 09:12:15 GMT
  Expires: 0
Длина: игнорируется [text/xml]
Saving to: «/home/backup/dude-backup/data/dude-backup-2010.07.08.xml»

     0K                                                       0,00 =0s

2010-07-08 13:03:08 (0,00 B/s) - «/home/backup/dude-backup/data/dude-backup-2010.07.08.xml» saved [0]
It's WGET output, when i run the script. Why Content-Lenght = 0? 0_o. May be because the dude 3.6 returns Content-Length=0 in their headers while generating, and sends the additional HTTP-request with correct headers when XML was generated? Then i have question. How make script is cath this request (if this reasons are true)

Gsandul, thanks for solution. Probably'll do.
May be offtop, but did you know about upgrading dude 2.2 to 3.6 or 4(beta) and 3.6 to 4(beta)?
May possible to data loss, misrepresentation,distortion of topology on maps, missing probes, etc.?

Our Company buying other ISP, and their using Dude 2.2 for monitoring services on devices, so i ask.
In the near future, I plan to consolidate both servers as monitoring-agents. This requires reduction to a single version.


UP. Content-Lenght = 0 because harddrive is full. Not awailable space required for backup.
 
Phase
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:20 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:46 am

For statistics:
The last backup copy received by a script has more than 100 Mb and procedure of its generation has occupied almost 5 minutes.

(Dude 3.6 on RouterOS 4.10 x86, ~600 devices).
 
ormwish
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 11:27 pm
Location: Russia, Saint-Petersburg

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Tue Jul 20, 2010 7:22 pm

thank you, Phase!

Rus: Постараюсь написать скрипт, который бы структуру дудового стораджа(то же что и бэкап) забирал по scp.
Eng: I'll try to write a script that would pick up the structure Dude storage(the same as backup) via scp.
 
Fated
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: Script for making automatic Dude backup's remotely

Fri Feb 03, 2012 3:54 pm

there is a same script that will upload config. in dude? Thx

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests