Community discussions

MikroTik App

Estiaan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

The dude and sms

Thu Jul 21, 2011 10:33 pm

Hi i am fairly new to the dude, i setup an wisp and now i want my dude to send an sms to me, i have read up on email2sms and tried vodacoms service but does not look like it is working, i saw an post where they used "blat" to send out the email, but that aint working aswell, can somebody recommend an service that works?

Where do you set in the dude to send out an email?
My dude server is running on an pc.

Thanks
Estiaan

jwable
just joined

Re: The dude and sms

Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:53 pm

*Goto Nottifications
*Open Email
*General TAB
*Setup email server address
*Put in the cell phones email address in the to field (normally something like 5551231234@txt.att.net)
*You need an SMTP server that allows relay
*Advanced TAB
*I check only down -> up, up -> down

John Wable

ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:23 pm

*Goto Nottifications
*Open Email
*General TAB
*Setup email server address
*Put in the cell phones email address in the to field (normally something like 5551231234@txt.att.net)
*You need an SMTP server that allows relay
*Advanced TAB
*I check only down -> up, up -> down

John Wable
This helps for "normal problems".

It does not help:
1. when one of your switches/routers between your monitoring system and your mailserver fails
2. when your mailserver fails
3. when your switches/routers between your mailserver and the internet fails
4. ...

Better put a 3G-Stick to your monitoring system and send sms without relying on the systems
you want to monitor.

geoffsmith31
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:21 am