HotSpot setup
Hardware talk

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
kamau
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:30 pm

HotSpot setup

by kamau » Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:22 pm

Hi

Am new to this Mikrotik I would appreciate help in setting up a hotspot in the routerOS...I have winbox but have absolutely no idea where to begining...

Can someone help me with a step by step using winbox??

Regards,
Kamau

User avatar
maximan
Long time Member
Long time Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 12:10 am
Location: Rio Cuarto, Argentina

by maximan » Wed Aug 16, 2006 11:54 pm


kamau
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:30 pm

HotSpot setup

by kamau » Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:46 pm

Thanks Maximan!

Thats was really helpful....I have managed to setup a hotspot, however

1. i dont get the a login page but am able to browse the internet through the hotspot. how can i activate this?as i want people to use http chap to log in

2. the routerOs(v2.9.27) seem to be very unstable loosing settings made...they become higlighted in red and i thereafter lose connection to the internet.and i have to make the settings all afresh..what could be the problem?how can i sort this out?are there patches that i need to update my router to sort this problem out?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Kamau

kamau
just joined
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 4:30 pm

by kamau » Tue Aug 22, 2006 6:59 pm

Hi Guys!

I managed to sort out my problems

Just incase you have the same problem!
On the login page
I configured the hotspot address to point to ip address of the router local interface and I am now able to get the page!

secondly the problem with the instability of the router i managed to sort it out with upgrading my routeros software from 2.9.27 to 2.9.28...ilts stable now....


Hope it helps someone!

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Atlantis, Bing [Bot], ffernandes and 15 guests

It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:13 pm