Community discussions

MikroTik App

bakadave
Topic Author

Complicated VLAN setup

Sat Jul 02, 2016 2:30 am

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to RouterOS and even though I've been reading the manuals for a couple of days now I'm still no closer to getting my 951g-2HnD to do what I had imagined. I'm working on my parents' network in a smallish hotel. It has a Mikrotik 951g-2HnD router with a bunch of APs and some wired clients but most importantly the occasional couple dozen guests on WiFi. Right now every computer is on the same (unsecured) network and that is of course foolish.
What I would like to do is separate hotel management computers from the public network with VLANs and give those VLANs different priority to insure that no matter how many guests are using the public WiFi, management PCs will always get a minimum guaranteed bandwidth.

This is what I would like to achieve (larger image):
The TP-Link access points (building 2) can do VLAN tagging for each SSID and the unmanaged switch should pass VLAN tags (if it doesn't I'll get a managed one) so eth3 on the Mikrotik router must be configured a trunk port. The TP-Link router configured as an AP (building 1) can't manage VLANs so eth5 should be tagged on ingress, eth2 and eth4 must also be tagged on ingress. eth1 is configured as static IP and put in the DMZ of the ISP-issued router. (I know, double NAT-ing isn't fortunate and I'll try to fight it with our ISP however at the moment without their router our phone lines don't work.)

Traffic priority aside (maybe with queues one day?) how do I go about setting up the VLANs? Do I create two switches for the two VLANs? Can I put the two VLANs on different subnets? How can I make sure that the PC on eth4 gets it's packets tagged so it can see some other device that is connecting through the "tagging" APs in building 2? I've been reading manpages for days but I still don't see the underlying structure.

If someone could shed some on this I would appreciate that.