Community discussions

MikroTik App

faided
just joined
Topic Author

Mikrotik admin users sudden loss of access

Sun Aug 13, 2023 6:23 pm

Good morning all,
As a quick introduction I am a senior IT consultant and have worked with WANs, CANs, and WiANs as a necessity for the several contracts I've worked on; please bare this in mind when responding.

I have purchased a hEX 5 port router as an alternative to Netgear, cisco, D-Link etc mostly because of its management tools.
Recently I have noticed something odd and wanted to reachout to the community for further guidance.

QUESTION: is there an issue with user credentials on the hEX 5port router?

CONTEXT:
Upon initial setup I changed both the Admin user name and password (duh but I see that's the first question people ask). I then go through and lock down port services to just winbox and 443. I then generate my initial SSL cert and link it to the 443 service (no port forward and should just be local ip), setup my IP ranges for my primary and subsidiary networks. I updated the router OS to 7.10 and then pointed my DNS (unbound dns resolver and DNS sync).
About 4 days later, when I attempted to login I received an error message that my connection took too long via https. Eventually the page loaded but constantly failed to login.
Frustrated I simply reset the router, changed default and and password, set up SSL, set up tables, and again locked port services to just winbox and 443 (with self signed SSL) etc, and again a few days later I was unable to login via winbox nor webfig. Frustrated I reset it again, and again and again.
I'm sort of at a loss here, I checked my winbox .cfg file (as it holds the last user name and password) to ensure I'm using the correct credentials (I was) and then I checked my DNS logs to see if there was any access into my router and subsequent network (there where none).