Community discussions

MikroTik App

eoyen
just joined
Topic Author

lost access to switchos

Fri Sep 29, 2023 6:08 pm

Hi

i am new to mikrotik and managed to lock myself out of the management interface by configuring vlan on the management interface and also setting allow from vlan.
i have serial connection to the switch, is there any way to regain access without clearing the switch config?

eoyen
just joined
Topic Author

Re: lost access to switchos

Fri Sep 29, 2023 7:23 pm

ended up just doing a reset back to default, and reconfigure.

k6ccc
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Sat Sep 30, 2023 8:54 pm

It's easy to do - done it myself. I generally leave the management pretty unrestricted until I have a switch completely set up and the save a backup to the PC before restricting access. That way if I mess it up and lock myself out, there is a backup from just before I locked myself out. Generally restricting ports is not a problem (as long as you really know where you are accessing the switch - more on that later). Restricting IPs or VLANs can be more dangerous.