Community discussions

MikroTik App

Juan15
just joined
Topic Author

Is it possible to filter specific routes by using NSSA or Stub areas?

Mon Oct 23, 2023 11:48 pm

I have to change the ISP network from static to dynamic using OSPF, and one of his requirements is that not every router in the network have to know each other by that they mean appear in the route list.

I have try with stub and nssa areas with no success, i'm still a novice in OSPF so i don't really know if what they need me to do is actually possible or not.

I have attached a mini version of the network as an example

What i need to know if can i discard the 10.2.0.0/24 network on MUTIS, China and PALO?
Also can Recta discard the 10.5.0.0/24 network ?
All of this while OFICINA and VH still have the entire network in his route list

I have been able to do one of does at a time but can't do the 3 at the same time. I also saw that you can just filter the route and have everything as a default area but they told to try first if i can do it without needing to just filter the route

I would greatly appreciate if you can tell me if this is actually possible or I'm just trying to do something impossible in OSPF
Thank you!

PD: Sorry for my bad english.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

eduplant
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: Is it possible to filter specific routes by using NSSA or Stub areas?

Thu Oct 26, 2023 9:00 pm

A couple of observations that might help:

1) OSPF has a strict area hierarchy where a backbone area (area 0) borders all additional areas. The link topology may not be, but the areas must be hub-and-spoke. The exceptions to this (virtual links) aren’t generally considered good practice in greenfield designs unless you have a very specific problem you are trying to solve or are trying to heal an area partition in an emergency.