Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dakrai21
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:18 am

PPPOE WAN SET UP NEED HELP

Sat Mar 02, 2024 5:46 am

Hi everyone, I'm having trouble setting up my WAN PPPOE. When I dial out my ISP PPPOE credentials, the status seems up and connected, and public DNS is pingable inside my router. Now my problem is with my LAN interface; I can't go through the internet, and when I ping 8.8.8.8, the reply is timed out. I have provided my script below. Please help.





# 2024-03-02 11:22:44 by RouterOS 7.13.3
#
#
# model = RB5009UG+S+
#
/interface bridge
add name=LAN_BRIDGE
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] name=eth1-WAN
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] name=eth2-WAN2
/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes interface=eth2-WAN2 max-mtu=1500 name=pppoe-out1 \
user=IIS93-082023-86890
/interface bonding
add name=bonding1 slaves=ether5,ether6
/interface list
add name=LAN
add name=WAN
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool ranges=11.120.0.1-11.120.10.0,11.120.10.2-10.10.255.254
add name=pppoe_pool ranges=120.84.50.0/24

/interface bridge port
add bridge=LAN_BRIDGE interface=LAN
/interface detect-internet
set detect-interface-list=all
/interface list member
add interface=ether7 list=LAN
add interface=ether8 list=LAN
add interface=bonding1 list=LAN
add interface=eth1-WAN list=WAN
add interface=eth2-WAN2 list=WAN

add address=11.120.10.1/16 interface=LAN_BRIDGE network=11.120.0.0

/ip dhcp-server network
add address=11.120.0.0/16 dns-server=8.8.8.8,1.1.1.1 gateway=11.120.10.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=8.8.8.8

/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=8291 protocol=tcp
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface-list=WAN

/ip service
set ftp disabled=yes
set api disabled=yes
set api-ssl disabled=yes

/ppp secret

/system clock
set time-zone-name=
/system identity
set name=
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/tool bandwidth-server
set authenticate=no
 
aoakeley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 171
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 11:45 am

Re: PPPOE WAN SET UP NEED HELP

Sat Mar 02, 2024 6:45 am

Hi,

You need to add your PPPoE connection into the WAN interface list so that the masquerade and firewall rules will apply to that interface

/interface list member
add interface=pppoe-client list=WAN

You will also need to fix your firewall. At a minimum add the following:

/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=forward connection-state=established,related
add action=accept chain=output connection-state=established,related
add action=drop chain=input comment="default configuration" in-interface-list=WAN

Andy
 
dakrai21
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2024 6:18 am

Re: PPPOE WAN SET UP NEED HELP

Sat Mar 02, 2024 7:40 am

Hi Andy,

I'm going to try your advice. Thank you
 
Mesquite
Member
Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2024 9:16 pm

Re: PPPOE WAN SET UP NEED HELP

Sat Mar 02, 2024 7:05 pm

I am going to assume there was no default config with this router??

This is wrong,
Where at the bridge ports......... you have it backwards .
/interface bridge port
add bridge=LAN_BRIDGE interface=LAN


More like
/interface bridge port
add bridge=LAN_BRIDGE interface=bonding1
add interface=LAN_BRIDGE interface=ether7
add interface=LAN_BRIDGE interface=ether8


/interface list member
add interface=eth1-WAN list=WAN
add interface=pppoe-out1 list=WAN
add interface=LAN_BRIDGE list=LAN


Q1. What provider do you have on ISP1 ??? Its not detailed and I dont see IP DHCP client settings?
Q2. Why do you attempt to provide a pool for the WAN2 connection??

SECURITY RISK/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=8291 protocol=tcp!!!

SHOULD BE:
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=input dst-port=8291 protocol=tcp in-interface-list=LAN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests