Community discussions

MikroTik App

tjr
just joined
Topic Author

IEEE 1588 More in depth documentation

Tue Mar 26, 2024 7:34 pm

I'm looking for more detailed documentation on IEEE 1588 than what is provided here https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... e+Protocol

I have a relatively simple PTP network that I'm trying to set up and I have a single master clock that is updating it's time from GPS and two slave devices that should be syncing their time with the master clock. A lot of the time it works fine, but I'm having issues with the slave devices taking a long time to update and sync with the master clock on the order of minutes. After I have a sync, things seem to be stable for awhile, but randomly the slave clocks appear to lose their synchronization and are seconds out of sync with the GPS instead of the expected microseconds or less.

I have a CRS328-24P-4S+R and I've set up the PTP profiles as best as I know how with the documentation provided, but I'm confused by the information given there.
PTP_status.png
ether3 and ether23 are where the slave devices are connected, so I'm confused why the state is listed as "master" unless the state here is referring to the switch itself and on those ports it's acting as master for the two slave devices?

ether24 is where the master clock is connected and the state is listed as uncalibrated which I'm not sure what that means if that is normal and expected or if I should be seeing something different there.

I've run Wireshark on the connection and I'm getting PTPv2 messages from all 4 devices including the switch itself. Attached is a short sampling of just the PTPv2 messages
ptp_filtered.zip
192.168.1.11 and 192.168.1.12 are the slave devices and 192.168.1.5 is the master clock 192.168.88.1 is the switch.