RB1100
Hardware talk

186 posts   •   Page 1 of 4   •   1, 2, 3, 4
gmidia
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:28 pm

RB1100

by gmidia » Tue Feb 23, 2010 10:46 pm

Finally out? Is this the RB1000 replacement?

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:36 am

Not out yet, but they have leaked a bit of information to get us talking. The announcement will be at MUM next week.

- RB1100 13-port gigabit rackmount router

So all we know is that the model is RB1100, it is a rack mount router, and has 13 ports which include gigabit ports. It could be more than 1U.

I am looking forward to the announcement.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

keefe007
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 3:01 am

Re: RB1100

by keefe007 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:29 am

A redundant power supply would be great.

Keefe

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: RB1100

by csickles » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:51 am

Normis is a TEASE!!! :lol:
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

bcopeland
just joined
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:21 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA, USA

Re: RB1100

by bcopeland » Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:26 pm

I actually wish I could have held off a month on my latest RB1000 purchase...

Hey Tom!!!
--
Bryan Copeland
Network Engineering Manager
TanMar Communications http://www.tanmarcomm.com
MTCTCE

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19266
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100

by normis » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:27 am

bcopeland wrote:I actually wish I could have held off a month on my latest RB1000 purchase...

Hey Tom!!!


Tom didn't know about it, the product will be revealed at the MUM. All anyone knows is the name. How do you even know it will be comparable with RB1000 in any way?
No answer to your question? How to write posts

bcopeland
just joined
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:21 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA, USA

Re: RB1100

by bcopeland » Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:51 pm

normis wrote:
bcopeland wrote:I actually wish I could have held off a month on my latest RB1000 purchase...

Hey Tom!!!


Tom didn't know about it, the product will be revealed at the MUM. All anyone knows is the name. How do you even know it will be comparable with RB1000 in any way?


I think you mis-understood the tone of my message... It wasn't to express anger... And the hey Tom ... Wasn't anything but a shout out...
--
Bryan Copeland
Network Engineering Manager
TanMar Communications http://www.tanmarcomm.com
MTCTCE

bcopeland
just joined
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:21 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA, USA

Re: RB1100

by bcopeland » Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:53 pm

Me and Tom were neighbors in the MTCTCE class in dallas...
--
Bryan Copeland
Network Engineering Manager
TanMar Communications http://www.tanmarcomm.com
MTCTCE

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:38 am

Hey neighbor,

I checked out your web site. You have a really nice niche market down there in LA.

Like Normis said... We distributors are left in the dark just like everyone else.

I'm looking forward to the MUM news.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: RB1100

by csickles » Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:25 am

Waiting for the 12:00 AM webcast...

Nap time !!!
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Sun Feb 28, 2010 6:58 am

csickles wrote:Waiting for the 12:00 AM webcast...

Nap time !!!


Are you sure about the time? I was thinking 3am Monday morning for Chicago which would be 1am for Pacific Time Zone.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: RB1100

by csickles » Sun Feb 28, 2010 7:59 am

Even better ..... :?

Long nap..... :lol:
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

amorsen
newbie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 2:17 pm

Re: RB1100

by amorsen » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:59 pm

So 13 ports, 1U, PPC CPU.

Still wondering about CPU speed and whether any of the ports are SFP. I couldn't see the interfaces clearly in the video.

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB1100

by nz_monkey » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:06 pm

Summary:

- Same CPU as RB800
- 13 x Gigabit port
- 2 x Attansic switch chips (2 x 5port switches)
- 1x POE capable port
- 1U Form factor
- Front/Rear air vents

It has some nice improvements, but I am a bit disappointed about it not having a multi-core processor, and from what I heard during the questions and after-discussion quite a few people were disappointed about the lack of SFP's
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

ginovilla
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:02 am

Re: RB1100

by ginovilla » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:07 pm

Price?

QpoX
Member
Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB1100

by QpoX » Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:59 pm

ginovilla wrote:Price?


one million dollars!
Image


In a other thread they did say about $500 (but it was unclear).
Sorry about the Dr. Evil, could not help myself :)

freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England

Re: RB1100

by freethought » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:40 pm

nz_monkey wrote:- Same CPU as RB800

So a considerable downgrade in grunt over the RB1000???
Last edited by freethought on Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB1100

by nz_monkey » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:38 pm

Maybe Normis said that meaning it was PPC. Wait for the official spec sheets to get the speed I guess.
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: RB1100

by mrz » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:40 pm

the CPU of RB800 and RB1000 is the same performance wise. The test is different because it has one less ports. So RB1100 has the same power CPU as RB1000 essentially.

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB1100

by fewi » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:47 pm

Any plans on releasing anything more powerful? I like buying an appliance so I don't have to worry about compatibility.

freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England

Re: RB1100

by freethought » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:53 pm

mrz wrote:the CPU of RB800 and RB1000 is the same performance wise. The test is different because it has one less ports. So RB1100 has the same power CPU as RB1000 essentially.


Despite the RB800 being 800MHz and the RB1000 being 1.33GHz? (assuming the RB800 uses a lower clocked variation of the PPC8547 processor in the RB1000).
The RB800 looks substantially slower at 64-byte and 512-byte packets where the speed/number of interfaces isn't a limit judging by http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/routerbo ... _tests.pdf

Will the RB1100 have the same hardware encryption/decryption for IPSec VPNs etc? (I'm unaware as to whether or not the RB800 has this)

When will the specs for the RB1100 be online? When will the unit be orderable/when will deliveries commence? We kind of need them urgently... ;)
Last edited by freethought on Tue Jun 01, 2010 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19266
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100

by normis » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:38 pm

the CPU can be set to the same frequency as RB1000 so performance will be similar. We will post specs and other stuff this week. Release date is in April. Price is targeted to be 499$
No answer to your question? How to write posts

User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1479
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB1100

by honzam » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:44 pm

Some photos? Or brochure?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator based on ROS. If the post helped, give Karma...

User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 19266
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100

by normis » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:49 pm

2010-03-01_164959.png
2010-03-01_164959.png (88.72 KiB) Viewed 18821 times
No answer to your question? How to write posts

meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB1100

by meno » Mon Mar 01, 2010 6:51 pm

Sweeeeeeeeeet!, any hw spec ????

hedele
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 12:23 am

Re: RB1100

by hedele » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:25 pm

:( Great, a revamped RB1000 with more ports which the CPU can't even saturate... and no SFP support either.
What good are 13 GigE Ports if the CPU is not powerful enough to max them out?
Who needs a 450€ 13-port GigE Routerboard to do switching dutys? there are way better alternatives for that.

The RB1100 would have been great if it either had enough power to actually push 13 Gigabit/s or at least had SFP support.
As I see it, Mikrotik could just as well have continued producing the RB1000, I don't see how this is an improvement over the RB1000.

Well, hoping for a RB2000 then :)

ginovilla
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 8:02 am

Re: RB1100

by ginovilla » Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:38 pm

Power is AC or DC?

gmidia
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:28 pm

Re: RB1100

by gmidia » Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:28 pm

Not what i expected. i would like to know why Mikrotik went back as opposed to enhancing the features on the RB1000.

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB1100

by nz_monkey » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:16 pm

Maybe if everyone nicely posts what they were hoping for, Mikrotik can try and implement these in the next product.

I was personally looking for that was not delivered:

- Multi-Core PPC processor


I would also like to see:

- More professional case design, e.g. better fitting ports, consistent colouring
- Externally accessible compact flash or SD slots
- Move from DB9 to RJ45 console port
- Addition of USB to the device with front mount ports
- Change to two product lines, RouterBoard (OEM/DIY) and RouterBOX (Mikrotik pre-assembled solutions)


Also, for the record the price point is not too much of a concern on a product that is potentially going to be used as the "core" router for ISP's and small enterprises. I just want a professional looking box, that is pre-assembled, tested and supported by the vendor.
Last edited by nz_monkey on Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:44 pm, edited 2 times in total.
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB1100

by fewi » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:21 pm

nz_monkey wrote:Maybe if everyone nicely posts what they were hoping for, Mikrotik can try and implement these in the next product.

I was personally looking for that was not delivered:

- Multi-Core PPC processor


I would also like to see:

- More professional case design, e.g. better fitting ports, consistent colouring
- Externally accessible compact flash or SD slots
- Move from DB9 to RJ45 console port
- Addition of USB to the device with front mount ports
- Change to two product lines, RouterBoard (OEM/DIY) and RouterBOX (Mikrotik pre-assembled solutions)


Also, for the record the price point is not too much of a concern on a product that is potentially going to be used as the "core" router for ISP's and small enterprises.


Pretty much just that, stressing "multi-core PPC processor". Something more powerful than the RB1000 that comes as an appliance from Mikrotik, and is guaranteed to work well with RouterOS and is fully supported in the OS upgrade path.

gmidia
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:28 pm

Re: RB1100

by gmidia » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:36 pm

A week ago i had to purchase a core 2 duo machine, RB44GV just because Mikrotik did not have a multi-core Router board Mikrotik, The internet Traffic gets complex and is dynamic lets have more power. Multi core is the solution especially as Edge Routers for ISP's like me

rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:00 am

Re: RB1100

by rmichael » Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:33 am

I'm sure MT will come out with multicore board as soon as OS supports it, ie V5. What would be the point of multicore RB1xxx that OS does not support.

User avatar
gmsmstr
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO

Re: RB1100

by gmsmstr » Wed Mar 03, 2010 1:40 am

nz_monkey wrote:Maybe if everyone nicely posts what they were hoping for, Mikrotik can try and implement these in the next product.

I was personally looking for that was not delivered:

- Multi-Core PPC processor


I would also like to see:

- More professional case design, e.g. better fitting ports, consistent colouring
- Externally accessible compact flash or SD slots
- Move from DB9 to RJ45 console port
- Addition of USB to the device with front mount ports
- Change to two product lines, RouterBoard (OEM/DIY) and RouterBOX (Mikrotik pre-assembled solutions)


Also, for the record the price point is not too much of a concern on a product that is potentially going to be used as the "core" router for ISP's and small enterprises. I just want a professional looking box, that is pre-assembled, tested and supported by the vendor.


Just making sure you know there are already supported solutions like this. Most of these are already accomplished though existing Made for MikroTik Products. You an visit the hardware comparability list for those. Ours is at http://www.mikrotikrouter.com These include up to 22 GigE Fibers and Up to dual Quad Core Xeon Processors!
Dennis Burgess, CCNA, A+, N+, MCP, Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
--- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition" -- routerosbook.com ---

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Wed Mar 03, 2010 7:17 am

ginovilla wrote:Power is AC or DC?


I'll guess the same as the RB1000. Universal AC in and 12vdc to the board.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

raktim
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 7:22 am

Re: RB1100

by raktim » Thu Mar 04, 2010 2:52 pm

We need powerful router than RB1000 also need SFP ports.

thnxs,
raktim

User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
 
Posts: 4079
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:45 pm
Location: Latvia

Re: RB1100

by mrz » Thu Mar 04, 2010 3:10 pm

In such case right now only option is x86 box.

smite
just joined
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: RB1100

by smite » Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:18 pm

gmsmstr wrote:Just making sure you know there are already supported solutions like this. Most of these are already accomplished though existing Made for MikroTik Products. You an visit the hardware comparability list for those. Ours is at http://www.mikrotikrouter.com These include up to 22 GigE Fibers and Up to dual Quad Core Xeon Processors!


There's a difference between embedded hardware and industrial x86.
Like power consumption, reliability, size, vendorsupport, etc.
If you're going for x86, you might as well just grab a proper server system.
In the same formfactor (2U) you could easily get a single or dual quadcore server with redundant PSUs and a few quad-port GigE or dual-port 10GE ports.

I actually ordered a few RB1000s, but they were cancelled before I could get them.
I'm not sure if I should get the RB1100.

499EUR for the RB1100 is a decent price, but I wouldn't mind paying 1000EUR for a proper routerboard that could forward at least 1000Mbps linerate (minimum size packets) with MPLS and a full BGP routingtable.

User avatar
TKITFrank
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:55 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: RB1100

by TKITFrank » Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:28 pm

This was not the good news I was hoping for. My network setup needs RB1000 power or more.
I truly hoped that the RB1100 would be a better RB1000 but I can conclude that it is not the case. The RB1100 looks more like a downgrade to me. :(

So my day today was to contact my distributor to try to allocate 2 more RB1000 while I still can.
Let's hope my distributor can hold/find 2 RB1000 for me.

I sincerely hope the new RB2000? have the DualCore PowerPC processor and also SFP and the same amount of ports that the RB1100 has. We need more speed MikroTik please take this under consideration. I understand that the RB1000 is not your biggest sales product in your portfolio but here in Sweden we have large scale networks and also the amount of bandwidth and traffic that requires large routers.

The x86 is not an option due to the limits in RouterOS to handle dual core x86 and the fact that I among may want a complete product from one vendor. Not one for the OS and one for the hardware.

Please do not concentrate your product portfolio to only small/medium scale networks and countries with low bandwidth.
We are pretty much getting our legs cut off here. :(
Last edited by TKITFrank on Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MTCNA

"I don't believe UNIX is Utopia. It's just the best set of tools around."

jcrites2008
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: RB1100

by jcrites2008 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:12 pm

Normis says that performance is about the same, plus RB1100 has twice as many ports, plus it is most likely going to be significantly cheaper. But if you'd rather pay a few hundred dollars more for the RB1000, go ahead I guess. Also I would imagine the processor in the RB1100 is newer than the one in the RB1000 for whatever that's worth.

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB1100

by nz_monkey » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:32 pm

TKITFrank, RouterOS 5 has much improved SMP support and the beta should be out once the Mikrotik team have recovered from PL MUM.

This will allow you to use x86.
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB1100

by fewi » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:40 pm

Hopefully they will also release some RouterBOARDS with multiple processors at that point.

gmidia
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:28 pm

Re: RB1100

by gmidia » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:48 pm

am not seeing any Mikrotik routerboard with multiple proccessors coming out any earlier than the second quarter. The best option they have currently and quickest is to have the OS support multi core machines. And am sure that is the next step they will be taking

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Fri Mar 05, 2010 7:49 am

jcrites2008 wrote:Normis says that performance is about the same, plus RB1100 has twice as many ports, plus it is most likely going to be significantly cheaper. But if you'd rather pay a few hundred dollars more for the RB1000, go ahead I guess. Also I would imagine the processor in the RB1100 is newer than the one in the RB1000 for whatever that's worth.


Hmmm, I don't think so. Both have the same CPU core and are the same generation. The RB1000 has 2 times the L2 cache. The RB1000 CPU is running 33% faster.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

jcrites2008
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: RB1100

by jcrites2008 » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:13 pm

roc-noc.com wrote:Hmmm, I don't think so. Both have the same CPU core and are the same generation. The RB1000 has 2 times the L2 cache. The RB1000 CPU is running 33% faster.

Tom



Hmm ok you have a point with the L2 cache but Normis did say it will be able to run at the same speed as the RB1000. I assume that's because it's meant to be used indoors whereas the RB800 is meant to be used outdoors where there can be very high temperatures.

BelWave
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 12:49 am

Re: RB1100

by BelWave » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:07 am

In my opinion all multi-Ethernet Routerboards should be required to include a USB port. Without the USB port there isn't a way to monitor the APC UPS status. Send power outage alarms etc.

Best,


Brad

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Sun Mar 07, 2010 7:19 am

jcrites2008 wrote:
roc-noc.com wrote:Hmmm, I don't think so. Both have the same CPU core and are the same generation. The RB1000 has 2 times the L2 cache. The RB1000 CPU is running 33% faster.

Tom



Hmm ok you have a point with the L2 cache but Normis did say it will be able to run at the same speed as the RB1000. I assume that's because it's meant to be used indoors whereas the RB800 is meant to be used outdoors where there can be very high temperatures.


To be clear, I am comparing the RB1100 (not RB800) to the RB1000. Normis might have said that because you can probably over-clock the RB1100 to match the clock speed of the RB1000.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:21 am

Re: RB1100

by ste » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:59 pm

roc-noc.com wrote:
jcrites2008 wrote:
roc-noc.com wrote:Hmmm, I don't think so. Both have the same CPU core and are the same generation. The RB1000 has 2 times the L2 cache. The RB1000 CPU is running 33% faster.

Tom



Hmm ok you have a point with the L2 cache but Normis did say it will be able to run at the same speed as the RB1000. I assume that's because it's meant to be used indoors whereas the RB800 is meant to be used outdoors where there can be very high temperatures.


To be clear, I am comparing the RB1100 (not RB800) to the RB1000. Normis might have said that because you can probably over-clock the RB1100 to match the clock speed of the RB1000.

Tom


What's never a good idea. When it would be save, MT would deliver it with higher clock-rate.

User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
 
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA

Re: RB1100

by roc-noc.com » Tue Mar 09, 2010 6:58 am

-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ

Re: RB1100

by csickles » Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:20 am

And the blood hound of the day award goes to... Tom !!

Nice..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig

User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
 
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 2:53 pm
Location: 新西蘭

Re: RB1100

by nz_monkey » Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:57 am

It looks like the micro-sd slots may be externally accessible !
http://www.mikrotik-routeros.com | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

  Next
186 posts   •   Page 1 of 4   •   1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:56 am