Community discussions

MikroTik App

mervincm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

CRS 226 Bridge penalty

Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:03 pm

Rather than hijack the other post, I opened a new one.

ryanhaver wrote:
bridging which sends all packets to RouterOS (CPU) for processing effectively nullifying the increased throughput benefits of 802.3ad

I am new to Mikrotik, I have a CRS226, and I have placed it into bridge mode. I did this because I didn't need any layer3, no routing, DHCP, VLANS etc. I assumed bridged mode simple disabled the router features and disabling the routing functionality would be a performance boost, not a performance killer. Have I made an error?

The only functionality I need at this point is switching.

leonset
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: CRS 226 Bridge penalty

Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:30 pm

Forget bridge and read this carefully:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CR ... _Switching

Also, I've read in some other post that 802.3ad is still not implemented in CRS, so you can't use it and benefit of wirespeed switching... yet

becs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:47 pm

CRS do not support dynamic LACP yet, but they can be configured with static link aggreation (IEEE 802.3ad draft v1).
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:CR ... s#Trunking

mervincm
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:13 pm

The documentation seems to say that bridge mode or router mode applies to how data flows between switch groups, am I correct?

If I don't need to do any trunking or routing, I don't really want to use bridge mode, nor router mode. I really just want one switch group. Correct?

If I do want to create a multi-port link, aka trunk group, then that group of ports would be a separate switch group with a different master port than the rest. I would then have to bridge these two master ports together, and as this involves the CRS CPU, three would be a negative performance impact.