Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
inSaNo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:23 am

CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Fri Apr 03, 2015 2:54 pm

Hi all,

I recently acquired a CRS125 to replace my RB2011 and I've been configuring it, but I'm running into very slow performance between VLAN's. I've been testing a with the MikroTik bandwidth tool, and it's odd that receiving traffic is extremely slow 1700Kb/sec, while sending is possible at 70Mb/sec.

I know that this device isn't really fast when traffic has to pass the CPU. But when running the tests, the CPU load isn't higher than 10%. So I'm guessing I made some dumb error.. But where?

Here is a stripped down export of the Device.
# apr/03/2015 13:32:51 by RouterOS 6.27

/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether9 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether10 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether11 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether12 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether13 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether14 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether15 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether16 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether17 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether18 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether19 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether20 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether21 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether22 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=ether23 ] master-port=ether1
set [ find default-name=sfp1 ] master-port=ether1

/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan6 vlan-id=6
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan10 vlan-id=10
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan11 vlan-id=11
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan12 vlan-id=12
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan15 vlan-id=15

/interface pppoe-client
add add-default-route=yes disabled=no interface=vlan6 name=pppoe-xxx password=xxx user=xxx

/interface ethernet switch egress-vlan-tag
add tagged-ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=10
add tagged-ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=11
add tagged-ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=12
add tagged-ports=ether1,ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=6
add tagged-ports=ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=15

/interface ethernet switch ingress-vlan-translation
add new-customer-vid=11 ports=ether5,ether6,ether7,ether8,ether9,ether10,ether11,ether12,ether13,ether14,ether15,ether16
add new-customer-vid=12 ports=ether17,ether18,ether19,ether20,ether21,ether22

/ip address
add address=172.16.1.1/28 interface=ether1 network=172.16.1.0
add address=172.16.10.1/24 interface=vlan10 network=172.16.10.0
add address=172.16.11.1/24 interface=vlan11 network=172.16.11.0
add address=172.16.12.1/24 interface=vlan12 network=172.16.12.0
add address=172.16.15.1/24 interface=vlan15 network=172.16.15.0

/ip firewall filter
add chain=forward connection-state=established
add chain=forward connection-state=related
add action=reject chain=input connection-state=new in-interface=pppoe-xxx

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=pppoe-xxx src-address=172.16.0.0/12 to-addresses=0.0.0.0
 
49er
Member
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:55 am

Re: CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:20 pm

CRS125 and Layer 3 is no good option.
I have the experience. Use it as a Layer 2 device and it wil perform great.
 
inSaNo
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:23 am

Re: CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Fri Apr 03, 2015 4:36 pm

Well.. it's marketed as "the perfect soho router" blah blah..
http://routerboard.com/CRS125-24G-1S-IN

So I'm expecting just that.. I've been using another CRS125 as a Layer2 Switch only, which works fine indeed.

The thing is. I haven't been able to pinpoint where the problem is.
When testing the CPU isn't stressed, so that doesn't seem the bottleneck in this case.
 
troffasky
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:37 pm

Re: CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:35 am

You're not the only one. Search this forum for 'CRS125' and you will find a worrying proportion of the threads are about performance, or the lack thereof. Many of the problems are solved by changing the queue type on the interfaces to 'ethernet-default', but the rest of them are due to people expecting the CRS125 to do L3 at wirespeed, which it won't.
 
w0lt
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 537
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:29 am

/interface vlan
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan6 vlan-id=6
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan10 vlan-id=10
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan11 vlan-id=11
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan12 vlan-id=12
add interface=ether1 l2mtu=1584 name=vlan15 vlan-id=15
If you are using the "Switch Chip", I believe you do not have to declare the VLAN's in the way you have above.
You need to declare them within the "Switch Chip" itself. Add below:
/interface ethernet switch vlan
add ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=10
add ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=11
add ports=ether1,ether2,ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=12
add ports=ether1,ether2,switch1-cpu vlan-id=6
add ports=ether3,switch1-cpu vlan-id=15
Try that and see if it works better.

-tp
 
User avatar
HumanDamned
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 11:21 am
Location: Tallinn

Re: CRS125 slow VLAN performance

Sat Nov 19, 2016 3:07 pm

Hi, experiencing the same problem - http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 18#p568418
Have you managed to solve the problem? What speed do you have now after declaring vlans withthe "Switch Chip" ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: artone, benshirazi, Jörg and 66 guests