Feature request. Routeros version rollback.

I would love to test some of the development versions on a 25m link, where I have some flexibility. But it is such a pain to visit after version upgrade if the link is lost,not just safe mode. Full reversion to last known good after x time

Ideally check boxes for last version and last backup with timer/scheduler

I dont know if backup includes os version, I suspect not just device settings, but no use if you cannot connect

It will be hard to store all versions you have been installing on 64Mb NAND

MRZ

The majority of my AP’s are RB433AH and a couple of RB600. But I would have thought that even on a 64mb Nand there would have been sufficient room for a 12/13mb for the core os. You could always delete all the npk’s prior, not store them all.

All my devices keep a local daily backup and a copy emailed to me, which is overwritten daily. I only get issues if I change the os release,and most issues can be resolved remotely, but I am reluctant to upgrade as it can have a high time cost. I want to change the os version to make use of bug fixes and enhancements.

The effect being that it would reboot in to the last known working, with backup. At least it would negate a day out for an engineer. If the issue was space for UM/Hotspot/Dude, they can always be remotely sent down as long as you have a connection.

If a connection goes down I would get 50 phone calls straight away.

I am sure the code would be relatively simple

Even just a running/backup version system like cisco use would be handy

Another request for that.

Even just last running version/config.

I just dont want to drive 50-100 miles if it goes tits up :slight_smile:

Hi,
Assuming your current version is 4.10 and want to upgrade to 4.11 and if failed return to 4.10
So try this:
put both “routeros-mipsbe-4.10.npk” and “routeros-mipsbe-4.11.npk” into your RB433AH
then paste following code in a terminal or ssh screen:

/system script
add name=downgrade policy=\
    ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,password,sniff,sensitive source="\
    :delay 600;\r\
    \n:log warning \"### Downgrading Router ###\";\r\
    \n/system package downgrade"

/system scheduler
add comment="" disabled=no interval=0s name=downgrade on-event=\
    "/system script run downgrade" policy=\
    ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,password,sniff,sensitive \
    start-time=startup

then reboot your router. it will upgraded to 4.11 and after that you have 600 seconds to login and in the
System → Scripts → Jobs stop the active downgrade script by selecting and pressing minus button
If you can’t do this it will automatically downgrade to 4.10 after 600 seconds. also you can change this delay inside script.
good luck

Thanks Mehran

that looks like it will work.

For clarification do I have to upload a new version of 4.10 as well as 4.11 or does it use the existing 4.10

You have to upload both.

Thanks guys

Will probably save me a drive one day

the beers are on me

u r welcome
if it works for you don’t forget to give karma :wink:

** NOTICE **

forgot to mention
to prevent accidentally downgrade on next reboot after successful upgrade do as follows:
1- Disable System → Scheduler → downgrade till next upgrade
2- Remove “routeros-mipsbe-4.10.npk” or file belonging to previous version