I have set my router with OS 6.47.2, which is working, but I needed to change working IP subnet to another. I have all change but forgotten to change it in the IP-Services the IP subnets from where I can connect to the router. Now router has set another IP subnet (also DHCP) as in services and I can’t connect to it. I have there the restriction to the FTP, SSH, WEB and WinBox. All other services are disabled.
Please can anyone help me how I can connect to it?
I have tried to set the old IP range on the PC and connect directly to it. The WinBox has find it, but can’t connect to the router.
All settings are back-up, but still on the router.
Unless you’ve disabled the mac server, you should be able to connect using Winbox to MAC address of the router instead of IP address (double-click the row in the neighbor list on the MAC address column).
If there is a configuration bckup in the part of the “disk” which survives a reboot, you can set the router to defaults and then restore the backup - reset to defaults doesn’t touch files, only the active configuration itself.
I try to connect over the neighbours by twice pressing on the found router, but still have the “couldn’t connect to the x.x.x.x”
I thing that I will not be able to connect to the router while the subnets from where I can connect to the router are old and not the new one from where has the router set his new IP.
This is better info. You mean if I reset the router over the button on the back of the router the backups stored in in will be still present? While I have looked on it on the web and there was written that the store will be erased too.
I thing its on the part of the disk you told, while I have there more backups as I have configured it and after reboot also after power cycle where there the backups.
So you mean that they will be there present after reset to default too? Or is needed any another special reset?
If you get x.x.x.x, you are still clicking a wrong column at the row. Click it where the MAC address is printed, in such case you should get “couldn’t connect to XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX” if it fails.
When I did something like this last time some two years ago, the files survived the “long button press” way of setting the default configuration. A netinstall is another story, that truly wipes out everything, but it’s not the same like reset to defaults, although you also put the device to netinstall mode through holding the button, however for a different amount of time. And just having the device in netinstall mode erases nothing, you have to actually upload the new software to it so that the wiping took place.
OK I had in wron view mode, so it always takes the IP. After changing it, I was able to use the MAC address but still the same error.
I thing the restrictions are higher as this connecting.
OK I have nothing to loose. I will try the reset to defaults and will hope that the backups will be present.
I doesn’t know how to use the netinstall and also doesn’t have the backups in my PC so I will not try it. And yes longer pressing the button (release after the LED will stop flashing) will start it.