Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
terdinatore
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 11:24 am

Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Fri Apr 30, 2021 12:14 pm

I have a rather unpleasant problem with my RB2011UiAS-RM on 7.1beta4. I bought the device used about a year ago and started using it in March 2021. Every time I need to reboot all of its configuration gets wiped. This is especially unlucky when I try to restore a backup which forces a reboot. I have now made a .RSC backup that can restore the config without a reboot, but still all the logs are gone.

Can someone advise how to troubleshoot this problem? Could it be that the reset button got stuck or is there a jumper that does this? Are there software settings which results in this behavior?

Thank you guys!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4756
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Fri Apr 30, 2021 12:26 pm

config do not matter

netinstall 6.47.9, update bios, and check if the problem persist
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2403
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Fri Apr 30, 2021 1:07 pm

Go to /system packages and proceed to installation check... what is the result ?
Most problably you should perform a net install on your device...

Is there anything unusual on system shceduler ?
 
terdinatore
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 11:24 am

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Sat May 01, 2021 3:19 pm

config do not matter
Yeah, I thought so but just wanted to give as much info as I can.

netinstall 6.47.9, update bios, and check if the problem persist
Let's assume I haven't got the latest bios and no issues on 6.47.9, would you suggest trying 7.1beta again?

Is there anything unusual on system shceduler ?
I have nothing but a Dyndns script, which I am pretty sure is innocent.

Go to /system packages and proceed to installation check... what is the result ?
It returns
installation is ok


I will try the netinstall and report back. Fortunately, it is easy to check if the issue persists. Thanks for the suggestions
 
lobito
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:01 pm

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Tue May 11, 2021 12:22 pm

I have the same Problem on 2 Routers, RB2011UiAS-2HnD and hAP ac. Nothing helps only restore backups, but not in every case. At random reboots fails the restore and I have still Factory Default Settings.
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4756
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Tue May 11, 2021 1:26 pm

netinstall 6.47.9, update bios, and check if the problem persist
 
User avatar
kiler129
Member
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm
Location: IL, USA
Contact:

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Sun May 16, 2021 5:59 am

I can add another RB2011 with the same problem. The funny thing is there is SOMETHING in the config which triggers that. I have a backup which restores and works throughout reboots but if I go and import my full config it works until reboot. After the reboot the router is wiped to factory defaults ;)
 
User avatar
frank333
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:17 pm
Location: S.Marino Router model: RB3011UiAS-RM

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Sun Jun 20, 2021 8:11 am

I can add another RB2011 ...
I have the same problem as you how did you solve it?
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2403
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Mon Jun 21, 2021 9:44 pm

I can add another RB2011 ...
I have the same problem as you how did you solve it?
Perform a Netinstall and then check again...
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Netinstall
 
User avatar
frank333
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:17 pm
Location: S.Marino Router model: RB3011UiAS-RM

Re: Reset to Factory Default on every reboot

Tue Jun 22, 2021 2:20 pm

Perform a Netinstall and then check again...
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Netinstall
ok!.seems to work now on rbm11g ROS 7.06 tnx

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests