Community discussions

 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:50 pm

Hello,

Please add ability to connect to remote neighbors via MAC Winbox
(Menu "IP" - "Neighbors")
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:38 pm

Hmmm.... what's wrong with this?
MACTelnet.PNG
or maybe you should configure ROMON: https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:RoMON
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:47 pm

I do not see "MAC Winbox" in your red circle
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:48 pm

I know. Please read the ROMON manual which could be very usefull for you.
Remeber that neighbours seen by the router on the "other end" of interface could not be reachable from your LAN segment.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 4:09 pm

>>Remeber that neighbours seen by the router on the "other end" of interface could not be reachable from your LAN segment.

Router on the "other end" should act as a "proxy for winbox" in this case.
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:00 pm

And what about situation when you are connected to segment A, then you see a router "on the other end" of tunnel, then you want to connect with Winbox to the third router which is seen via next tunnel ... and then to the next and .... How to manage dynamic proxing on MAC/L2-level connections to devices behind tunnels?

Read about ROMON. It is a tool you are writing about.
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
millenium7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 200
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:12 am

Re: Please add ability to connect to neighbors via MAC Winbox

Mon Mar 19, 2018 2:13 pm

ROMON would be great.... if it was turned on by default (and limitted to only 1 router hop unless otherwise specified)
A lot of the time I log in to a customers router to fix problems, and they are often PPPoE or IP related so I have to use MAC. Turning romon on, then MAC telnet over and turning it on there, then working in winbox and having to go back and turn it off again is often a hassle and hence I don't bother. Would be so much better to just right click a neighbor and open winbox right from there

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 99 guests