Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
next111
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:08 pm
Location: ITALY

new feature request MLAG!!!

Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:34 pm

with the new 48-port switch it would not be bad to introduce MLAG
 
mixig
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:19 pm

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:16 pm

+ 1
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Thu Jan 30, 2020 8:19 pm

MikroTik Cloud Router Switch CRS354-48G-4S+2Q+RM
+1 but MLAG / LACP must be >20pcs , the best without limitation
and STACKING feature up to 8 units !
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1221
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Wed Feb 05, 2020 4:11 pm

I would much rather see stacking.

MLAG is fine for Layer 2, but it's a nightmare for Layer 3. Stacking works well for both. Considering a lot of the CRS3XX chipsets have L3 HW offload that has yet to be taken advantage of, it would be nice to be able to form an LACP chanel across two or more switches and use it at L2 or L3.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
next111
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:08 pm
Location: ITALY

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:03 pm

Listen, any solution is fine
but I can't see netgear in datacenters just because it supports this features !!!
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Sun May 03, 2020 3:07 pm

I'd be happy with the ability to just be able to run an MLAG. There is currently no way for one to create a redundant LAG across 2 switches for redundancy.

Image

Anyone have a workaround to be able to bond 2 connections from say a router to 2 switches?
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME, MTCSE
 
tricksol
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:55 pm

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Wed May 06, 2020 5:44 pm

1+ for MLAG
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Over the Rainbow
Contact:

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Thu May 07, 2020 3:20 am

This is hardly a "new" feature request :lol:

Stacking and MLAG have different use cases.

For Enterprise a stack is better
For Datacentre/ISP a MLAG cluster is better

This is primarily down to L3 support and failure domains.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet NSE7 | Extreme Networks ENA
 
alex32c
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 1:53 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Sun May 10, 2020 1:19 pm

+ MLAG
 
JnSchl
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 11:11 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Tue May 26, 2020 4:08 pm

+1

MLAG / Stack whatever but just something or even better both ;-)
 
mdoering
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:57 pm

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Wed Jun 03, 2020 8:03 pm

+1 for MLAG.... this has been talked about for a while and I saw a post ~1yr ago that you guys were trying to get this implemented.
 
next111
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:08 pm
Location: ITALY

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Sun Jun 14, 2020 10:06 pm

+1 mlag
 
mmorelie
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:04 pm

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 11:28 am

+1 for both
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:00 pm

I would much rather see stacking.

MLAG is fine for Layer 2, but it's a nightmare for Layer 3. Stacking works well for both. Considering a lot of the CRS3XX chipsets have L3 HW offload that has yet to be taken advantage of, it would be nice to be able to form an LACP chanel across two or more switches and use it at L2 or L3.
If the MLAG is active-passive (like in IOS-XR), then Layer-3 is very easy, because only one of both routers has an active/running interface. The distribution needs to be done by a routing protocol, of course.

Edit:
I wonder if it would be possible to fake active passive MLAG using VRRP between both routers for Master election (including a separate HA-link to prevent split-brain). Then employ a script that checks the VRRP-Status (Master or Slave) and accordingly brings up or down the local bonding interface.

Of course the chassis-id needs to be the same on both routers.

The only downside is, that mikrotik forces you to include at least two interfaces in one bond. But you can always use an EoIP-Dummy-interface to circumvent that.
Last edited by sup5 on Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:04 pm

The IEEE 802.1BR support added to 6.48beta12 will eventually give us that, and more:

*) crs3xx - added initial Bridge Port Extender support (CLI only);
*) crs3xx - added initial Controlling Bridge support for CRS317, CRS309, CRS312, CRS326-24S+2Q+ and CRS354 devices (CLI only);

A full IEEE 802.1BR implementation will give you a single control plane for all your switches, like a Cisco 3x00 switch stack or 6800 & Nexus with fabric extenders.

Bring it on, MikroTik!
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1887
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Over the Rainbow
Contact:

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 2:15 pm

The IEEE 802.1BR support added to 6.48beta12 will eventually give us that, and more:

*) crs3xx - added initial Bridge Port Extender support (CLI only);
*) crs3xx - added initial Controlling Bridge support for CRS317, CRS309, CRS312, CRS326-24S+2Q+ and CRS354 devices (CLI only);

A full IEEE 802.1BR implementation will give you a single control plane for all your switches, like a Cisco 3x00 switch stack or 6800 & Nexus with fabric extenders.

Bring it on, MikroTik!
802.1BR is NOT MC-LAG and has a different use case. It is for bridge extension, port expanders and the like. You could possibly use it for stacking...

MC-LAG is still needed, it removes the "single control plane" point of failure.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet NSE7 | Extreme Networks ENA
 
sup5
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:37 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 2:36 pm

MC-LAG is still needed, it removes the "single control plane" point of failure.
It only eliminates the need to use STP and VRRP. Dual control plane issues like lack of synced connection tracking will remain.
 
mbovenka
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 10:14 am

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Jul 17, 2020 3:49 pm

802.1BR is NOT MC-LAG and has a different use case. It is for bridge extension, port expanders and the like. You could possibly use it for stacking...

I didn't say it was the same. I said that it probably would bring it with it, and I stand by that. It makes it possible to have LAGs with members connected to different physical chassis. And stacking of some sort (Cisco StackWise Virtual, or VSS. Not NX-OS VPC) is exactly what I want. If a box looks like a single device from the outside, I want to configure it as a single device. Which is why I don't like Nexus VPC. Or simple 'MLAG', for that matter.

MC-LAG is still needed, it removes the "single control plane" point of failure.

Stacking (or whatever you want to call it), when done right, fixes that for you by hiding that you are talking to multiple boxes, unless you specifically look for it.
 
Gooogast
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:57 pm

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:08 pm

I'd be happy with the ability to just be able to run an MLAG. There is currently no way for one to create a redundant LAG across 2 switches for redundancy.

Image

Anyone have a workaround to be able to bond 2 connections from say a router to 2 switches?
Or to have 2 or 4Ge redundant connection from server for free.
Last edited by Gooogast on Sun Sep 20, 2020 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: new feature request MLAG!!!

Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:27 pm

Anyone tried this yet?

https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... t+Extender

And managed to get a bonded interface across 2 switches?
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME, MTCSE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests