Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 1283
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

VxLAN example configuration

Sat Feb 15, 2020 11:20 pm

Here is a blog post I did with a VxLAN lab in EVE-NG between 3 routers and 3 linux servers:

The blog and configurations are available here:
https://stubarea51.net/2020/02/15/mikro ... ook-vxlan/

Image
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
User avatar
mozerd
Member
Member
Posts: 475
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:39 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:41 am

Very Well Done and great example .... Thank You!
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:43 am

Thanks Kevin, I replicate it now !
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I will be at MUMEUROPE Prague on ?? ?? 202?
 
excession
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sun Feb 16, 2020 11:19 am

Thanks for sharing.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 1283
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sun Feb 16, 2020 5:55 pm

You're welcome! I'm not sure if an IPv6 underlay is supported, but I may try that later today :D

EDIT: Looks like the VTEPs and VxLAN interface group multicast address are IPv4 only for now.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
mbrante
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:56 pm

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sun Apr 05, 2020 4:36 pm

Hello, thanks for sharing!

Would you give me your opinion about this please?

I 've made a small version of this, but without OSPF, an only two VTEP's:
vxlan_lab.png

This is my config:


#***VTEP-01***
# apr/05/2020 13:18:18 by RouterOS 7.0beta5
# software id = 
#
/interface bridge
add mtu=9000 name=BRIDGE-VXLAN
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] mtu=9000
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] mtu=9000
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] mtu=9000
/interface vxlan
add group=239.0.0.1 interface=ether2 name=vxlan-vni-100 port=8472 vni=100
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=BRIDGE-VXLAN interface=vxlan-vni-100
add bridge=BRIDGE-VXLAN interface=ether3
/interface vxlan vteps
add interface=vxlan-vni-100 remote-ip=10.10.10.2
/ip address
add address=10.10.10.1/30 interface=ether2 network=10.10.10.0
add address=10.100.100.100/24 interface=BRIDGE-VXLAN network=10.100.100.0
/ip dhcp-client
add add-default-route=no disabled=no interface=ether1
#error exporting /ipv6/route/rule
#error exporting /routing/policy/selection
/system identity
set name=VTEP-01
/tool sniffer
set filter-interface=ether3
#
#
#***VTEP-02***
# apr/05/2020 13:20:48 by RouterOS 7.0beta5
# software id = 
#
/interface bridge
add mtu=9000 name=BRIDGE-VXLAN
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] mtu=9000
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] mtu=9000
/interface vxlan
add group=239.0.0.1 interface=ether2 name=vxlan-vni-100 port=8472 vni=100
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/interface bridge port
add bridge=BRIDGE-VXLAN interface=ether3
add bridge=BRIDGE-VXLAN interface=vxlan-vni-100
/interface vxlan vteps
add interface=vxlan-vni-100 remote-ip=10.10.10.1
/ip address
add address=10.10.10.2/30 interface=ether2 network=10.10.10.0
add address=10.100.100.200/24 interface=BRIDGE-VXLAN network=10.100.100.0
/ip dhcp-client
add add-default-route=no disabled=no interface=ether1
#error exporting /ipv6/route/rule
#error exporting /routing/policy/selection
/system identity
set name=VTEP-02
/tool sniffer
set filter-interface=ether3
Results:

PC-A can ONLY ping to: 10.100.100.100 (VTEP-01 bridge IP address)
PC-B can ONLY ping to: 10.100.100.200 (VTEP-02 bridge IP address)

VTEP-01 can ping to: PC-A and 10.100.100.200 (VTEP-02 bridge IP address)
VTEP-02 can ping to: PC-B and 10.100.100.100 (VTEP-01 bridge IP address)

End-to-end communication fails :(

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by mbrante on Sun Apr 05, 2020 4:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
mafiosa
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:10 pm

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Sat May 02, 2020 3:58 pm

can I use ipv6 over ipv4? that is vtep will be ipv4 but servers will communicate on ipv6.
 
colinardo
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:02 pm

Re: VxLAN example configuration

Mon Jun 15, 2020 5:27 pm

can I use ipv6 over ipv4? that is vtep will be ipv4 but servers will communicate on ipv6.
Yes you can. VXLAN-Interface forms a transparent L2 tunnel, so you can use IPv6 inside it.

Best regards.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DanMos79 and 16 guests