Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:46 pm

So I thought I give RouterOS v7.beta5 a try on SXT R with Quectel EC25-AF modem in MBIM mode. In the below screenshot, Modem mode is set to auto. Setting it to serial makes the lte1 interface disappear. How do I fix this?

There is internal error that is preventing from things working properly.
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface print
Flags: X - DISABLED, R - RUNNING
Columns: NAME, TYPE, ACTUAL-MTU, L2MTU, MAX-L2MTU, MAC-ADDRESS
  #     NAME      TYPE     ACTU  L2MT  MAX-        
  0  R  ether1    ether    1500  1598  2028  mac address removed
  1     ether2    ether    1500  1598  2028  mac address removed
;;; internal error
  2     lte1      lte      1500              mac address removed
  3  X  ppp-out1  ppp-out 

[admin@MikroTik] > /port print
Columns: DEVICE, NAME, CHANNELS, USED-BY, BAUD-RATE
  #  DEV  NAME  C  USED-BY         BAUD
  0  1-1  usb1  1  Serial Console  9600
[admin@MikroTik] > /system resource usb print
Columns: DEVICE, VENDOR, NAME, SPEED
  #  DEV  VENDOR                   NAME        SPE
  0  1-0  Linux 4.14.131 ehci_hcd  RB400 EHCI  480
  1  1-1  Quectel                  EC25-AF     480

Log shows this error:
lte1 mbim: !!!!!!! error: service: connect, command: register state, done, error: 2
Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 9.47.18 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 9.47.40 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 9.48.15 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 9.49.10 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-04-24 at 9.49.21 AM.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:28 am

I was unable to fix the internal error issue when modem is in MBIM mode. I switched modem to ECM mode and is now registered and connected and getting LTE signal and IP address. But I can not ping from the SXT R. What am I missing?
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface print
Flags: R - RUNNING
Columns: NAME, TYPE, ACTUAL-MTU, L2MTU, MAX-L2MTU, MAC-ADDRESS
  #     NAME    TYPE   ACTU  L2MT  MAX-  MAC-ADDRESS      
  0  R  ether1  ether  1500  1598  2028 mac address removed
  1     ether2  ether  1500  1598  2028  mac address removed
  2  R  lte1    lte    1500             mac address remove

[admin@MikroTik] > /port print
Columns: NAME, CHANNELS, BAUD-RATE
  #  NAME  C  BAUD
  0  usb1  1  9600

[admin@MikroTik] > /system resource usb print
Columns: DEVICE, VENDOR, NAME, SPEED
  #  DEV  VENDOR                   NAME        SPE
  0  1-0  Linux 4.14.131 ehci_hcd  RB400 EHCI  480
  1  1-1  Quectel                  EC25-AF     480

admin@MikroTik] > /ip address print
Flags: D - DYNAMIC
Columns: ADDRESS, NETWORK, INTERFACE
  #     ADDRESS            NETWORK        INTE
  0  D  192.168.225.25/24  192.168.225.0  lte1

[admin@MikroTik] > ping 1.1.1.1
  SEQ HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                                     
    0 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    1 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    2 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    3 192.168.225.25                             84  64 94ms  host unreachable                           
    sent=4 received=0 packet-loss=100%

[admin@MikroTik] > /ip firewall nat add chain=srcnat out-interface=lte1 action=masquerade 
[admin@MikroTik] >> ping 1.1.1.1                                                          
  SEQ HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                                     
    0 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    1 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    2 1.1.1.1                                                 timeout                                    
    3 192.168.225.25                             84  64 91ms  host unreachable                           
    sent=4 received=0 packet-loss=100% 

[admin@MikroTik] >>
 
cable
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:09 am

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Thu Apr 30, 2020 2:39 am

I get the same error in mbim mode. Anyone have an idea?
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri May 01, 2020 12:21 am

I get the same error in mbim mode. Anyone have an idea?
Support asked me to try "at+cfun=1". Sometimes takes few tries or I am just impatient, but it seems to fix the internal error. But the fix is temporary, until you make a change affecting modem or LTE interface or reboot.
 
cable
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:09 am

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri May 01, 2020 6:08 am

So the fix won’t survive a power outage either? That’s no good.
 
cable
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:09 am

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri May 01, 2020 6:32 am

I wonder if that can be programmed to run at startup?
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Mon May 04, 2020 11:54 pm

Perhaps someone smarter than me can make a script to detect the error and run the command.
 
WeWiNet
Member
Member
Posts: 489
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2018 4:11 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Tue May 05, 2020 10:54 am

Why not role back to ROS V6?
Startup script is easy: /system/scheduler/ new schedule with "run at startup".
First thing put delay in like
:delay 3m # 3 minutes delay to let all all interfaces and LTE board to come up
YOUR command here... (the one you typed into terminal to issue the At command).
WeWiNet

**
MTCNA
I like a new challenge, I migrate to ROS7... :? or maybe I am just crazy :lol: !!!
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3443
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri May 22, 2020 8:19 am

I get the same error in mbim mode. Anyone have an idea?
Support asked me to try "at+cfun=1". Sometimes takes few tries or I am just impatient, but it seems to fix the internal error. But the fix is temporary, until you make a change affecting modem or LTE interface or reboot.
The problem was with the some incompatibility in the MBIM communication with the modem. You need to wait till the Quectel releases a new modem firmware which will fix that problem.
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Fri May 22, 2020 8:46 am

Thank you for the explanation. I have been working with Artis M in your support group and Neal with Quectel North America support. I have connected them together and I have provided Quectel all the info Artis provided to me about the issue with EC25-AF firmware.

Now the waiting begins for updated firmware from Quectel. Meanwhile, looking forward to testing out next version of ROS 7.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Tue Sep 15, 2020 2:14 am

EC25-AFX works with MBIM in ROS7.1beta2 just from R07A03 :
model: QUECTEL Mobile Broadband Modul
revision: EC25AFXGAR07A03M1G
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
obspildoc
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:02 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Tue Sep 22, 2020 8:32 pm

We use EC25AF modems with SXT-R and LHG's. We rolled up to ROS 7b8 for MBIM compatibility and later ROS 7.1b2 for testing but are running into the same two problems: either the unit will only communicate in 3G HSUPA, or the lte1 interface has a 50/50 chance of showing up on any given reboot. This is across dozens of antennas with multiple modems (all EC25AF's) using multiple SIM cards from multiple carriers. Today we've tried setting the modem to at+qcfg="usbnet",1 and running ROS 6.47.4. This (so far) seems to have solved the interface and HSUPA problems but leaves the antenna behind a NAT created by the modem. At this point I'm not sure which of our three problems is the easiest to fix or if any of them even have solid solutions. If ROS 7.1b2 has native support for the EC25AF then any help in figuring out why the lte1 interface pops in and out. Any advice would be appreciated.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Wed Sep 23, 2020 1:32 pm

We use EC25AF modems with SXT-R and LHG's. We rolled up to ROS 7b8 for MBIM compatibility and later ROS 7.1b2 for testing but are running into the same two problems: either the unit will only communicate in 3G HSUPA
Our r7b2 works excellent with EC25-AFX after we use newest firmware: EC25AFXGAR07A03M1G_01.002.01.002 but it's differ fw for -AF and I don't know what is a latest one. Prev. fw at EC25-AFX not detect properly lte1 interface and r7.03 is a minimum for us and latest one.

Your problem we face but with EP06-A who not connect to LTE in frirst 15m, after ~15m he connect to LTE, this was strange. He provide us logs:
lte1: +QLWURC: "pdp active","failed","nxtgenphone"
lte1: +QLWURC: "deregister",0

We disable the Use Network APN and this not help us, but providing the APN by:
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT=\?"
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT=1,\"IPV4V6\",\"broadband\""
fix all staff and then every reboot works with LTE connection now every time at EP06A, but at EC25-AF* probably that command will be differ, check at manual.

ECM mode and his internal NAT for us is not possibly to use in project and we not test it and not use it. Only MBIM mode.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
cadillackid
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:20 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Oct 11, 2020 12:32 am

I recently started testing an EC25-AF in the USA on AT&T service.. its in an LTAP mini runninf ROS7.1beta2..
im runninfg the modem in MBIM mode, I didnt tape it, I ran the usbmode AT commands so i didnt need to tape it..

it shows up quickly as an LTE interface . within a minute or so of ROS bootup.. however the thing I notice is that it really likes to sync to an HSUPA tower instead of LTE at first..

rarely will it sync as LTE initially .. even though there are nice nearby towers with supported LTE bands.. ive tried a couple different antennas and it will wants to live in HSUPA mode after initial power up or ROS reboot.. after 10-15 minutes it will finally sync to a different tower and be LTE. and my signal strengths will be much higher. on the LTE tower than they were o nthe HSUPA tower..

trying to figure out how to searches for cells and if there are any AT commands that alter the way in which it searches..

different antennas affect signal strength. and if im in an area where multiple LTE towers are super close it **MAY** sync LTE and staythat way however it often still likes to go HSUPA first and then switches over..

anyone else experience anything similar? quectel tells me my firmwares are latest at: EC25AFFAR07A08M4G_01.001.01.001. for the USA.

I dont seem to have this sync issue with the R11 card or an MC7354 card. once the EC25 switches over to LTE my speeds are MUCH faster than the R11 or MC7354 card so I am hoping to use the EC25-AF. I havent yet tried my MC7455 card and am still awaiting arrival of my LM960..
-Christopher
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Oct 11, 2020 1:44 am

cadillackid
after 10-15 minutes it will finally sync to a different tower and be LTE.
All that behavior is by the APN settings...

Check this out.
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT\?"
this show you the numbers of APN setup in lte module, probably replace the no.1 with proper APN fix that case, means:
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT=1,\"IPV4V6\",\"broadband\""

Check the AT Commands for CGDCONT because this is for EP06 serrier and EC25 maybe have little differ one.

AND, enable in System > Logging the topic=lte
to watch and log all APN entry, this should give you a hint !
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
cadillackid
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:20 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Oct 11, 2020 2:32 am

ha! thanks for making me check my work! I had run the APN command previously but when I queried it then it was not correct.. seems top be workiong much better now!

I have been logging lte topic all along which has been helping.. so apparently the ROSv7 firmware doesnt correctly ship the APN to the modem?

looks like the APN command is auto save.. i power cycled the ltap and it has stayed which is good., i cant remember I may have reset the modem config at some point as I have used other carriers in test and usually I default the modem between carriers..
-Christopher
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Oct 11, 2020 3:08 pm

I have been logging lte topic all along which has been helping.. so apparently the ROSv7 firmware doesnt correctly ship the APN to the modem?
We have only those:
ros7 APN.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:34 pm

I recently started testing an EC25-AF in the USA on AT&T service.. its in an LTAP mini runninf ROS7.1beta2..
im runninfg the modem in MBIM mode, I didnt tape it, I ran the usbmode AT commands so i didnt need to tape it..
I did not need to use tape either. Setting USBMODE was sufficient.

it shows up quickly as an LTE interface . within a minute or so of ROS bootup.. however the thing I notice is that it really likes to sync to an HSUPA tower instead of LTE at first..
I think there are AT commands to limit modem to only use LTE bands or set order of preference.
I dont seem to have this sync issue with the R11 card or an MC7354 card. once the EC25 switches over to LTE my speeds are MUCH faster than the R11 or MC7354 card so I am hoping to use the EC25-AF. I havent yet tried my MC7455 card and am still awaiting arrival of my LM960..
You seem to have similar collection of modems, as I do. Mikrotik modems R11e-LTE and R11e-LTE6 don't have band 13 and band 14, so I ended up getting Quectel EC25AF, Sierra Wireless MC7355 and MC7455, and Telit LM960A18. The problem is...it is so difficult to get firmware update from Quectel and Telit.
 
cadillackid
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:20 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:07 am


We have only those:
ros7 APN.png
this was first thing I had tried and it failed.. sending the APN directly to the EC25 seems the only way it works correctly.. I switched APN profiles on the LTAP to use a different carrier and the modem kept the old APN even after an LTAP reboot.. so now I wrote a script that switches my SIM slot and sends the at-chat to the modem when I swap carriers ..its working good this way .
-Christopher
 
cadillackid
just joined
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:20 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:15 am

I finally got Quectel to respond and my modem has the latest for the USA, however they wont tell me how I can get notofied if a new firmware for US carriers becomes available .. its also concerning because if I purchase modules and they get shipped to me with old or incorrect firmwares I have no way to update them ..

we like to control what firmwares on devices we release in the field and which customers get them and which versions..

I havent even tried with telit yet..

any idea what modem mikrotik uses in their Cat12 chateau?
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Mon Oct 12, 2020 12:41 am

I have been logging lte topic all along which has been helping.. so apparently the ROSv7 firmware doesnt correctly ship the APN to the modem?
I reported this bug to MikroTik support in August, via email.
 
User avatar
uiblogit
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 4:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sat Nov 07, 2020 2:58 pm

any idea what modem mikrotik uses in their Cat12 chateau?
hi I have a Chateau LTE 12, and the Quectel EG12-EA is used as the lte chip.
As a ROS version I have 7.1beta2
For some days I have noticed that in the log I have the following error:
"lte1 mbim: error: <<< And service: connect, command: connect, error: 12"
just before getting the new ip after a disconnect and reconnect.
some idea?
Screenshot (799)_log.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Nov 08, 2020 12:14 am

uiblogit
some idea?
Of course ask support@mikrotik.com or mikrotik.com/support
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
JardinEspanol
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2019 6:16 pm
Location: California

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Sun Nov 08, 2020 3:44 am

hi I have a Chateau LTE 12, and the Quectel EG12-EA is used as the lte chip.
As a ROS version I have 7.1beta2
For some days I have noticed that in the log I have the following error:
"lte1 mbim: error: <<< And service: connect, command: connect, error: 12"
just before getting the new ip after a disconnect and reconnect.
some idea?
Can you try ECM mode?
AT+QCFG="usbnet",1
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Tue Dec 08, 2020 3:26 am

I reported this bug to MikroTik support in August, via email.
You can login at mikrotik.com/support with that e-mail, or register at portal with that e-mail who send and create your tickets.
That way you see your post at JIRA portal and you can easy re-send them to support. Share with me as e-mail info@sibex.it and attach screenshot with editing like here: https://jira.atlassian.com/secure/WikiR ... ection=all

But Still, with EC25-AFX works with some AT commands what I write at #12
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT=\?"
/interface lte at-chat lte1 input="AT+CGDCONT=1,\"IPV4V6\",\"broadband\""
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
I back from vacation and try answer at LTE posts
 
lordzar
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:47 pm

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Mon Jan 04, 2021 11:08 pm

I get the same error in mbim mode. Anyone have an idea?
Support asked me to try "at+cfun=1". Sometimes takes few tries or I am just impatient, but it seems to fix the internal error. But the fix is temporary, until you make a change affecting modem or LTE interface or reboot.
The problem was with the some incompatibility in the MBIM communication with the modem. You need to wait till the Quectel releases a new modem firmware which will fix that problem.

And how is the average user support to get firmware from them?? I picked up 2 EC25-V's. each with a different FW image. Sent an email to support and they sent a book back to fill out...
How many do you need.? Where are you getting them from? Whats the name of your project.? It goes on and on and on.
Just send me the freak'n firmware.
 
r00t
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 2:14 am

Re: Quectel EC25-AF MBIM has internal error

Tue Jan 05, 2021 12:12 am

Quectel is really PITA to work with. When I asked for firmware about a year ago, they told me to sign an NDA and mail it to them, otherwise they will give me nothing. Awesome...
I just returned the module to the seller because I don't have time for such shenanigans. I guess they want sellers of products with these modules to deal with all this and provide the firmware to their customers, but reality is that most sellers from China doesn't care and will only do bare minimum to sell the product.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: angboontiong, baronkis and 13 guests